It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's the difference between wild and cultivated plants? Why has the study of cultivated plants been neglected, and why is so little known about the common plants that have endured since ancient times? This innovative ecological survey examines the long history of human and plant interactions. Author Edgar Anderson, a distinguished botanist, analyzes suggestive pieces of evidence in a reader-friendly narrative that recounts the origins and evolution of plant life with all the intrigue of a good detective story. In tracing the development of human influence on plant life, Anderson focuses particularly on crops, which he reveals as having started out as weeds--hybrids that sprang up from the dump heaps and gardens of early humans. His investigation of the tangled and continuing history of weeds and cultivated plants ranges from autumnal European greens and the American sunflower to backyard landscapes in developing countries, where fruit trees, flowers, vines, and vegetables mingle with the sources for fibers, poisons, narcotics, and other drugs. Description from https://www.degruyter.com/document/doi/10.1525/9780520312548/html?lang=en
Focuses on the history of the United States and Canada from early times to present day. Includes related disciplines such as sociology, popular culture, gender issues, anthropology, literature, folklore, history of various disciplines, etc. (5 simultaneous users)
Focuses on the history of the world (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes related disciplines, such as multicultural studies, psychology, religion, political science, etc. Provides worldwide coverage of the journal literature in history, selected book reviews, and references to dissertations. Covers literature published from 1955 to present
Replaces Sociological Abstracts as the premier database in the area of sociology. It covers the content from Sociological Abstracts and provides additional full-text of books, conference papers, and articles, as well as back files which in some cases extend back to 1895.
Search more than 50 million businesses in the U.S. Businesses module or 250 million individual consumers in the U.S. Consumers / Lifestyle. This resource helps users create small business and marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis and locate people and business competitors and partners.