LibGuides: Student Success: Home

We can help!

Contact your subject librarian for in-depth research help

We are here to help!

We can help with research, library resources and any questions about the library! We welcome questions from all of our students, on any campus or taking classes online. There are many ways to contact us: chat, phone, email or in person. You can also set up an appointment with a Subject Specialist Librarian. Here's a link to a page with information about how to get help in the library: Webster University Ask A Librarian - Get research and citation help

Selecting an Article Databases

You get an assignment and have chosen a topic. Now you have to find articles. Start by searching one of the library's article databases.

What is an article database?

Article databases are collections of articles in magazines, newspapers, and journals. These databases make it easier to locate articles on your topic because they are collected into one place and provide search functions that are useful for academic research. You can find a list of all the databases that the library subscribes to on the Articles & Databases page on the library website.

You will need to login to Webster Databases using your last name and your Student ID.

General databases to start with

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
A scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database with indexing and abstracts for nearly 3,930 scholarly journals (many dating back to 1984). Full-text is available for over 2,940 scholarly publications. The database covers nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for many U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Quick Article Search (a set of EBSCO databases) This link opens in a new window
Searches multiple Ebscohost databases simultaneously: Academic Search Premier, APA PsycINFO (psychology), Business Source Complete, CINAHL Ultimate (nursing), Communication & Mass Media Complete, Environment Complete, ERIC (education), Family & Society Studies Worldwide, Humanities International Complete, and SocINDEX with Full Text (social sciences).

Articles & Databases Page
To find a subject specific database, please visit our Articles & Databases page. Click on your subject for a list of recommended databases.

Help!

Ask A Librarian
Get help finding sources, narrowing or expanding your topic, and more!

Research Desk: (314) 246-6950
Toll-free: (800) 985-4279
Search the FAQs, email us or Chat with a Librarian 24/7