Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MNGT 2500 and MRKT 5000 - Marketing (Noll)

Created for Phil Noll's marketing assignment -- determine the marketing process for a consumer product. This guide uses the Apple iPhone as an example

Company information databases

Search these databases by company name.  From the company listing, you may link to the company history, market share & rankings, SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities & Threats) and industry reports. 

For information on how to use these databases, see the boxes below.

Need specific information about your product?  To see how to create keyword searches to find articles about your product's pricing, promotions, marketing, and other information you may want to know, see the section at the bottom of this page. 

Business Insights: Global database -- Company search: Apple 

In addition to the reports linked here (history, SWOT, market share), check out the company's website.  If you're researching a public company, look for their annual report; It is generally found under a link for Investor information.

Business Insights Global database company record for Apple, Inc.

Business Source Complete -- company search

Open the database and then click on "Company Information" on the blue navigation bar at the top of the page to search for a company. From the company information page you may link to SWOT,  industry and market research reports.  You may find competitors by linking to related companies.  And, check out the links to the company hierarchy to see the parent company and subsidiaries.

Business Source Complete company information about Apple

What if I can't find a SWOT report for my company?

Within library databases, SWOT analysis reports are most often available for large U.S. public companies, though some foreign and private companies might be covered as well.  

If you cannot find a SWOT report for your company, look for reports on 2 or 3 larger public companies in your same industry.  For example, in the computer software industry try Microsoft or Apple or Intel.  Companies in the same industry will often use or adapt their own strengths to capitalize on another company's weaknesses.

Also, check industry reports, like those from the IBISWorld Industry Market Research database to see what internal and external factors are impacting companies in the industry in which your company competes.

Keyword searches for specific information

Here are some examples of searches that you can do to find specific information about your company and product.  I began with the keywords apple AND iphone AND then I added additional words to the third search box to focus my results on pricing or price, promotion, etc.  

If you are getting too many articles, you may set the publication date slider to more recent articles.  In my examples below, I've set it to articles published in 2016 or later. 

articles on pricing OR price

 

articles on promotion

 

In the search below, advertis*  will search for variant endings and will retrieve advertise, advertising or advertisements.

articles on marketing

 

Articles on distribution

 

articles on consumer or customer