Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GLBC 1200 - Leading the Way

Welcome to Webster University Library online and in-person

Book spine lettering spells out leadershipThis research guide and our website at http://library.webster.edu provide resources to support students in the Leading the Way Global Cornerstone course.

Please contact our Research Librarians or your Seminar Librarian for help with assignments for this course or any others.

Library session learning objectives

During the library sessions, students will:

  • Learn how to find relevant library resources (articles, books, and help) for their assignments in this course and others.
  • Learn how to get help from the Research Librarian or their Seminar Librarian

Library homepage searching and services

Library homepage searching and services

Webster University Libraries home page showing search publications tabs and big blue services buttonshomepage image captured 18Oct2022

Search Publications & Research

From the library homepage at library.webster.edu you may select the tabs to search:

  • Articles: across multiple EBSCO databases to produce a multidisciplinary list of articles that contain your search words or phrases.  
  • Catalog: the library catalog for books, ebooks, videos (including streaming collections), music recordings (including streaming audio) and scores, and much more. Here are some tips for searching the library catalog.
  • eBooks: electronic books accessible to Webster University students and staff. 
  • Journals & magazines: for a periodical title to find whether it is full text in a database. If so, you may browse of search the database for a specific article. 
  • Research guides: for librarian-curated lists of databases and other resources for programs, courses, and topics.
  • Videos: for DVD's and streaming video collections. 

Big Blue Buttons

Articles & Databases for alphabetical and subject lists of databases available to Webster students and staff.

Contact A Librarian to get research help in person, via email or 24/7 chat, and to search for answers to frequently asked questions (FAQs).

Research Guides for librarian-curated lists of databases and other resources for programs, courses, and topics.

Information Timeline

Posts shared on social media may be almost instantaneous but are often very brief, may be biased and are unlikely to tell the whole story.

News events may, in a few hours, days or weeks, be covered in news websites, newspapers, television programs, angraphic for popular to scholarly sourcesd magazines but often contain less specific information and offer a more general overview. Authors are usually assigned the story by an editor. 

Scholarly articles and non-fiction books take the longest to be published and to read but are the most detailed. As time passes, authors with greater expertise (authority) provide a more in-depth analysis of the event and how it fits into the theory and prior research of a specific discipline. Journal articles may be peer-reviewed before they are accepted for publication. Most academic researchers will provide an extensive list of the sources (bibliography or references) which they read and cited.

One source is not enough to write a strong paper, but you can write a solid paper by synthesizing information gathered from a variety of sources.

Information Timeline, 2020, Elizabeth Waugh from CSC124 Information, Technology, and Society: Information Defined