Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Leadership

How do I cite the library's databases?

When you cite a full text article retrieved from a library database, some citation styles require you to cite the database name and/or a URL. Here’s how Webster’s most-used citation styles address this issue: 

APA (7th): Requires that one include only the Digital Object Identifier / DOI if available. If there is no DOI listed in the database or on the article itself do not include any database information nor a URL.   

MLA (9th); Chicago; AMA; Harvard: If there is a DOI, add both it and the database name to the citation. If a DOI is not available, include the database name and provide the database permalink or, if no permalink, a URL. Our FAQ, finding a database permalink, shows how to obtain a permalink from two of our biggest database platforms, ProQuest and EBSCOhost.  

Be sure to check the appropriate citation guide for how to properly format the citation in the style required for your assignment.  

Request Books or Articles

For instructions and links to forms, see our Request Books or Articles page (U.S., international, and online users).

APA Citation Guide

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete, our largest business and management article database, offers primarily scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles from a variety of publications. It is often the best place to start searching for articles.

Looking for a specific article or periodical, e.g Harvard Business Review?

Search the Journal / magazine / newspaper A-Z list to discover if the periodical you seek is one of more than 25,000 titles available full-text online or from the library in print.

Additional Databases

The following databases may provide a different focus for your search. You might use them in addition to Business Source Complete (above).