Skip to main content

KEYS 4003 - Contemporary Slavery and Human Trafficking

Finding periodical articles in Webster U Library databases

periodicals graphicUse databases to find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Journal articles are more appropriate for college-level research and may be required by your professor.  Magazines and newspapers often contain stories and statistics that help to grab your reader's attention. See the list of suggested databases at right below.

Click here for a complete list of Webster University Library databases.

Academic Search Complete search example

Historial Abstracts search example

America: History & Life search example

One search in many Ebscohost databases

Ebsco supplies most of the library's subject-specific databases, which  allows one to search across multiple databases simultaneously.  To select the databases:

  1. From the library homepage, http://library.webster.edu select the link Articles / databases
  2. Choose Ebscohost from the "Know the database you want?" menu.
  3. Check the box next to each database that you want to include. 
  4. For a broad, multidisciplinary article set. your librarian suggests:
    • Academic Search Premier
    • Environment Complete [if you are researching labor trafficking]
    • ERIC (educational perspectives)
    • Family & Society Studies Worldwide
    • Gender Studies Database
    • Historical Abstracts (world history except for the Amercas)
    • Humanities International Complete
    • Medline (health and medicine)
    • Military & Government Collection
    • PsycINFO (psychology)
    • SocINDEX with Full Text

 

Suggested databases

Article databases useful for finding journal articles (and magazines and trade publications)

See at left a search example for Academic Search Complete.

Need historial perspective?  Try one of these article databases useful for finding journal and magazine articles and books.  

See below left for search examples from Historical Abstracts and America: History & Life.

Check out newspapers for statistics and local or global perspectives.

Have a Question? Ask a Librarian

Have a Question?  Ask a Librarian

Ask Us widget button

Click Ask a Librarian for online help

To speak to a librarian

Your Keystone Librarian

Mary Anne Erwin's picture
Mary Anne Erwin
Contact:
maerwin@webster.edu
Phone: 314.246.7841
Library Toll-free: 800.985-4279
Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm CT
Need help right now or on nights and weekends? Please Contact a Librarian
Website