Why spend time trying to come up with subject terms when you can let the articles do the work for you?

Every scholarly article in our databases is already tagged with one or more subject headings. So, if you locate a relevant article and want to find more like it, you can use one of the article's subject headings to locate similar results.

Here's how it works:

When you find an article that sounds interesting, click the blue underlined title to see the detailed record. For example, I searched "polar bears" in our Academic Search Premier database and found this article about hibernation.

Depending on your topic, you might find interesting results by clicking on a subject heading to run the search automatically through the database.

Remember you can still apply limiters (e.g., date) to the results of a subject heading search the same as with any other search.

Most of the library's databases provide tools on the left- or right-hand side of the results screen with options to help narrow down your search. This is where you can apply different limiters, sometimes called filters, to your initial search terms.

Limiter options might include:

• Publication date
• Resource type
• Subject terms
• Geography

Some helpful tips, when searching:

• Check the box "Peer Reviewed" if your professor specifies that you need academic or scholarly articles
• Check the box "Full Text" if you need an article at that moment and cannot wait for an article to be delivered

Here are a couple of tip sheets on using advanced features within Webster University Libraries' databases, which include:

• Full-text: where to locate the full text of an article
• Cite tool: how to generate a citation, e.g., in APA or MLA format
• Folder tool: how to save items to EBSCO folders for future use