ANTH 2890 - The Politics of Health and Disease

Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality's (AHRQ) Consumers and Patients page contains links to AHRQ research and fact sheets aimed at consumers.

CDC:Centers for Disease Control and Preventionhttp://www.cdc.govInformation about vaccination, health surveillance and statistics, epidemiological data, wellness, prevention, and health for travelers. Also includes links to realted health and government sites.

Statistics and reports from the CDC

This site is produced by the National Institutes of Health. Search for information on current and upcoming clinical trials by keyword, or browse by condition/disease or by sponsor. Also includes information for potential participants on finding trials, understanding participation requirements, etc. NIH links to consumer drug information, dietary supplements, rare diseases, women's health, alternative/complementary therapies, and bioethics are included.

Well-organized site for information about the FDA and related topics. Can search by keyword or browse a list of topics (e.g. HIV/AIDS Therapies). Includes various publications and a FAQ (frequently asked questions) list on selected topics.

Healthy People 2020 is a government initiative that identifies significant and preventable threats to health and promotes access to preventative health services. The program focuses on several priority areas including nutrition, tobacco, family planning, obesity, occupational safety, heart disease, cancer, and immunization.

Information from the Missouri Department of Health includes reports, new releases, and newsletters such as Missouri Vital Statistics, and Missouri Epidemiologist.

Searchable site which provides health news and publications, information on research activities, job openings, grants, scholarships, and links to affiliated institutes.

Besides information about the Library, this site offers fact sheets and other publications, news features on medical topics, and access to MEDLINE/PubMed and related databases.