Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film Studies @ Webster University Library

A guide for undergraduate students studying Film Studies at Webster University

There are so many databases! Which one should I use? 

The Academic Search Premier database covers many subject areas and is a good source for reviews of current movies as well as those released within the past 10-20 years. Try a simple keyword search for the film title. Here's a sample search for reviews of March of the Penguins. First, type the title in the first empty box as shown below.

Second, scroll down the screen to the "Limit your results" area of the search form. Select Entertainment Review from the "Document Type" menu. This will limit the results of your title search to just those articles which are entertainment reviews.

Consider searching a subject specific database.

Match the broad subject of the film to a library database that covers periodicals in that subject field. For example, the Scopus database may offer more reviews of a film on a science related topic. The database America: History & Life may offer more reviews of a film about a well known historical figure. More databases and their respective subject areas are listed on our Library Databases by Subject page.

Search print indexes for older films.

The following multi-volume reference books are located in the Reference Collection on level 2 of the Library.

Help!

Contact a Librarian
Get help finding sources, narrowing or expanding your topic, and more!‚Äč

Sarah Reando's picture
Sarah Reando
Contact:
sarahreando96@webster.edu
314-246-7812