A collection of music videos featuring songs by Gilles Vigneault. The songs were originally written in French and then translated into English for the DVD. Visual techniques include traditional 2-D art, computer-generated 3-D images, clay animation, collage, watercolor, oil, crayon, sand, and even-popcorn. The music and lyrics range from silly songs ("Sleepy Sheep Hoedown for the Kid Who Won't Lie Down") to lullabies.
This collection of 32 animated films celebrates the pioneering solo cartoon work of the legendary Ub Iwerks, who was Walt Disney's foremost animator/collaborator in the formative years of the late 1920s.
Featuring some of the very earliest, ground-breaking on-screen appearances of many all-time Looney Tunes favorites, it's an unprecedented celebration for cartoon-lovers eager to re-live the heady, hilarious, golden age of Warner Bros. animation. Fifty-six landmark animated marvels, including Bugs Bunny, in a dazzling assortment of his very best toons.
Brings together the complete works of Norman McLaren, from his initial experiments in Scotland in 1933 to his final NFB film in 1983. Features 58 films, tests, unfinished films and support material (photographs, audio clips and more), along with 15 original documentaries contextualizing McLaren's work and his creative process.
Operavox offers state-of-the-art animation techniques, music, and stories distilled into thirty-minute films. Breaking free of the confines of the stage, the film's visual style brings a new accessibility to these opera masterpieces.
Find Popeye, spindly Olive Oyl, burger opportunist Wimpy, lil' Swee'pea, brooding Bluto, even a pair of rare, full-color, two reel extravaganzas that received top billing in some movie houses. Additional Volumes Available in Library.
This candid documentary by storyboard artist Robert Castillo is a sped-up film that recalls Castillo's 1977 arrival in New York from the Dominican Republic, where he was raised by his grandmother for seven years.
In the past 15 years, Spike & Mike's Festival of Animation has earned a reputation for bringing together unique and outrageously funny animated short films. This collection of 14 shorts represents animation film artists from five different countries.
Following the success of the theatrical tour of the Animation Show, animators Mike Judge and Don Hertzfeldt have brought the stellar collection of shorts to DVD, with extra features that they couldn't fit into the original show.
Seven early animated works produced by Starewicz in Moscow and Paris between the years 1912 and 1958. As the world's first great puppet and stop-motion model animator, Starewicz was best known for his insect stories, the best of which is included in this collection.
"Utilizing a delirious combination of puppets, humans, stop-motion animation and live action, Svankmajer's films conjure up a dreamlike universe that is at once dark, macabre, witty and perversely visceral. This is a collection of short works"--Container.
These charming stories are filled with timeless Pooh adventures. Including the first meeting between Tigger and Pooh, Pooh getting stuck in Rabbit's house from eating too much honey, and the lovable characters' flurry of activity on a hilarious windy day.
This five-disc boxed set contains many extremely rare and recently restored feature films, shorts, and animated films from the first quarter-century of the American film industry. Many of these works were meticulously rephotographed, frame by frame, from paper prints held at the Library of Congress for copyright protection.
Join Woody and his friends Chilly Willy, Andy Panda, Wally Walrus and Buzz Buzzard for hours of outrageous adventures. Features rare treasures from the Walter Lantz archive, including Oswald the Lucky Rabbit, Cartune classic and Swing symphony cartoons. Additional Volumes Available in Library.
The classic cartoon chase involving forever frustrated feline Tom and the mightily mobile mouse Jerry got spun in a new, inventive direction when animation legend Chuck Jones set up shop and produced these 34 wonderful shorts. [Picture belongs to [https://www.deviantart.com/superawesomevectors/art/Tom-And-Jerry-Vector-690635515 ]
A feature film which combines live action and cartoons set to classical music in a satirical parody of Disney's Fantasia. The stories are connected by comical live-action scenes that mimic the lunacy and humorous mechanics of familiar cartoon situations.
It's 50 B.C. and a small village in Gallic France is under siege by the Romans. Panoramix, the druid, cooks up a magic potion which helps the little warrior Astérix and his friends to hold their own. But the Romans then kidnap Panoramix to discover the secret of his tribe's strength.
The spell of an enchantress opens this classic fairy tale, turning a cruel prince into a hideous beast. Belle, the heroine, is a book-loving young lady trapped by the beast when she comes looking for her father. To break the spell, the beast must win Belle's love before the last petal falls from an enchanted rose.
Beauty and the Beast won the Golden Globe Award for Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy, the first animated film to ever win that category. It also became the first animated film to be nominated for the Academy Award for Best Picture at the 64th Academy Awards, where it won the Academy Award for Best Original Score and Best Original Song for its title song and received additional nominations for Best Original Song and Best Sound. In April 1994, Beauty and the Beast became Disney's first animated film to be adapted into a Broadway musical. Selected for preservation in the National Film Registry by the Library of Congress for being "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant".
In the age of heroes comes the mightiest warrior of them all, Beowulf. After destroying the overpowering demon Grendel, he incurs the undying wrath of the beast's ruthlessly seductive mother, who will use any means possible to ensure revenge. The ensuing epic battle resonates throughout the ages.
Super-dog Bolt is the star of a hit TV show. His life is filled with adventure, danger and intrigue. When Bolt is accidentally shipped to New York City and separated from Penney, his beloved co-star and owner, Bolt immediately springs into action to save her from the forces of evil.
Orphaned, Pazu is caught up in a thrilling adventure after Sheeta, a young girl wearing a glowing pendant, floats out of the night sky and into his life. Now, the pair must soar above the clouds in order to find the legendary floating city of Laputa and its treasures.
While the chickens on evil Mrs. Tweedy's farm dream of a better life, a clever hen named Ginger is actually making plans to fly the coop. But since chickens can't fly, every escape attempt fails until Rocky, a smooth-talking all-American rooster, crash-lands into the coop.
Beautiful Cinderella shares her dreams of romance and a better life with the lovable mice Gus and Jaq. When Cinderella's cruel stepmother prevents her from attending the Royal Ball, her fairy godmother appears and transforms a pumpkin into a coach and Cinderella's rags into a gorgeous gown.
Fantasia was ranked fifth at the 1940 National Board of Review Awards in the Top Ten Films category. Disney and Stokowski won a Special Award for the film at the 1940 New York Film Critics Circle Awards. Fantasia was the subject of two Academy Honorary Awards on February 26, 1942—one for Disney, William Garity, John N. A. Hawkins, and the RCA Manufacturing Company for their "outstanding contribution to the advancement of the use of sound in motion pictures through the production of Fantasia", and the other to Stokowski "and his associates for their unique achievement in the creation of a new form of visualized music in Walt Disney's production Fantasia, thereby widening the scope of the motion picture as entertainment and as an art form".
In 1990, Fantasia was selected for preservation in the United States National Film Registry by the Library of Congress as being "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant". On the 100th anniversary of cinema in 1995, the Vatican included Fantasia in its list of 45 "great films" made under the Art category; the others being Religion and Values.
Fantasia is featured in three lists that rank the greatest American films as determined by the American Film Institute. The film ranked number 58 in 100 Years... 100 Movies in 1998 before it was dropped from its ranking in the 10th Anniversary revision in 2007, though it was nominated for inclusion. The 10 Top 10 list formed in 2008 placed Fantasia fifth under Animation.
The fretful Marlin and his young son Nemo become separated from each other in the Great Barrier Reef. Buoyed by the companionship of a friendly fish named Dory, Marlin embarks on a dangerous trek and finds himself the unlikely hero.
Hiccup is a Viking teenager who aspires to hunt dragons, but doesn't exactly fit in with his tribe's longstanding tradition of heroic dragon slayers. His world gets turned upside down when he encounters a dragon that challenges him and his fellow Vikings to see the world from an entirely different point of view. Additional Volumes Available in Library.
In 1970s Iran, Marjane "Marji" Statrapi watches events through her young eyes and her idealistic family. Their long dream is realized when the hated Shah is defeated in the Iranian Revolution of 1979. Now ruled by Islamic fundamentalists, Marji grows up to witness first hand how the new Iran has become a repressive tyranny on its own.
Many film historians consider this to be the film that most closely approaches technical perfection of all the Disney animated features. Pinocchio was a groundbreaking achievement in the area of effects animation, giving realistic movement to vehicles, machinery and natural elements such as rain, lightning, smoke, shadows and water. In 1994, Pinocchio was added to the United States National Film Registry as being deemed "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant".
In 1607, the Virginia Company sends a ship from England to America to stake a claim on the New World and bring back the gold that is rumored to be abundant there. Well-armed, the men anticipate easily fighting off any one they encounter, but John Smith's first meeting with a native is not at all what he expects. As Pocahontas and John Smith fall in love, however, both find that their lives are going in directions they never anticipated.
A young boy named Sosuke rescues a goldfish named Ponyo, and they embark on a fantastic journey of friendship before Ponyo's father forces her to return to the sea. Ponyo's desire to be human upsets the balance of nature and only Ponyo's mother, a beautiful sea goddess, can restore nature's balance and make Ponyo's dreams come true.
In 2009, Ponyo won five awards at the 8th annual Tokyo Anime Awards. The awards included "Anime of the year" and "Best domestic feature". Miyazaki received the award for best director and best original story, and Noboru Yoshida received the award for best art direction.
The film won the awards for Animation of the Year and Outstanding Achievement in Music at the 32nd Japan Academy Prize
Ratatouille won the Academy Award for Best Animated Feature at the 80th Academy Awards and was nominated for four others: Best Original Score, Best Sound Editing, Best Sound Mixing, Best Original Screenplay. Voted one of the 100 greatest motion pictures of the 21st century by a 2016 poll of international critics conducted by BBC.
"Master thief Lupin III, aka 'The Wolf,' and his right-hand gunman Jigen are hot on the trail of a double-crossing counterfeiter. But when their search leads them to the secluded European country of Cagliostro, the world's smallest country, they find far more than they bargained for.
Shrek, an endearing ogre, goes on a daring quest to rescue feisty Princess Fiona with the help of his loveable, loud-mouthed Donkey. Together they want to win back the deed to his beloved swamp from scheming Lord Farquaad. Additional Volumes Available in Library.
The film's success helped establish DreamWorks Animation as a prime competitor to Pixar in feature film computer animation. Shrek itself has noticeably influenced the current generation of mainstream animated films.
At the 11th Academy Awards, producer Walt Disney was awarded an honorary Oscar, and the film was nominated for Best Musical Score the year before. In 1989, the United States Library of Congress deemed the film "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant" and selected it for preservation in the National Film Registry. The American Film Institute ranked it among the 100 greatest American films, and also named the film as the greatest American animated film of all time in 2008. Disney's take on the fairy tale has had a significant cultural impact, resulting in popular theme park attractions, a video game, and a Broadway musical.
The highest-grossing film in Japanese history with a ¥30.4 billion total. Spirited Away received universal acclaim, and is frequently ranked among the greatest animated films of all time. It won the Academy Award for Best Animated Feature at the 75th Academy Awards, making it the first (and so far only) hand drawn and non-English language animated film to win such award; the Golden Bear at the 2002 Berlin International Film Festival, tied with Bloody Sunday; and is in the top 10 on the British Film Institute's list of "Top 50 films for children up to the age of 14".
In 2016, it was voted the fourth best film of the 21st century as picked by 177 film critics from around the world, making it the highest ranking animated film on the list. It was also named the second "Best Film of the 21st Century So Far" i
Bob and his wife Helen used to be among the world's greatest crime fighters, saving lives and battling evil on a daily basis. Fifteen years later, they have been forced to adopt civilian identities and retreat to the suburbs where they live "normal" lives with their three kids, Violet, Dash, and Jack-Jack.
Professor Challenger, the man of vision who persuades his skeptical colleagues to return with him to a remote South American plateau where he has discovered living dinosaurs. Resisting danger and death, Challenger's party return to London in triumph with a captive Brontosaurus. But the beast excapes, turning the city into a shambles and standing the 20th century on it's head.
This was the first feature-length film made in the United States, possibly the world, to feature model animation as the primary special effect, or stop motion animation in general. In 1998, The Lost World was deemed "culturally, historically or aesthetically significant" by the Library of Congress and selected for preservation in the United States National Film Registry
Toy Story had a large impact on the film industry with its innovative computer animation. After the film's debut, various industries were interested in the technology used for the film. Graphics chip makers desired to compute imagery similar to the film's animation for personal computers; game developers wanted to learn how to replicate the animation for video games; and robotics researchers were interested in building artificial intelligence into their machines that compared to the film's lifelike characters. Various authors have also compared the film to an interpretation of Don Quixote as well as humanism. In addition, Toy Story left an impact with its catchphrase "To Infinity and Beyond", sequels, and software, among others. In 2005 (10 years after its theatrical release), the film was selected for preservation in the National Film Registry by the United States Library of Congress, one of only six films to be selected in its first year of eligibility
After hundreds of lonely years, a waste management robot finds a new purpose in life. With only a cockroach for a friend, he finds true love in another robot sent on a mission to Earth to see if it is safe for human life.
In the year 2071, the crew (Spike, Jet, Faye, Ed, and the Welsh Corgi named Ein) of the spaceship Bebop travel the solar system bringing bad guys to justice and trying to make some cash while doing it. In the slang of the era, "Cowboys" are bounty hunters.
Critics have hailed Cowboy Bebop as a masterpiece and frequently cite it as one of the greatest anime titles of all time. Credited with helping to introduce anime to a new wave of Western viewers in the early 2000s, Cowboy Bebop has also been labelled a gateway series for the medium as a whole.
Meet Light Yagami, a brilliant but bored high school student whose life is changed when he finds the Death Note, a notebook dropped by a rogue Shinigami, or god of death, named Ryuk. When Light discovers that any human whose name is written in the book dies, he vows to use its power to rid the world of evil.
Lucy, one of the mutated homo sapiens with horns and telekinetic abilities, captured and isolated in laboratories by the government, escapes her prison, leaving a bloody body count in her wake. She is shot in the head, robbing her of her memories. Washed up on a beach, she is found by two college students who take her in, only to discover glimpses of her past as a vicious killer.
The Duffer Brothers have cited Elfen Lied as an influence on the 2016 television show Stranger Things. They said that Elfen Lied was like an "ultraviolent E.T." and noted that the character Eleven was inspired by the anime. The Duffer Brothers also cited the influence of Akira, which in turn had influenced Elfen Lied.
Fry, a slacker pizza delivery man, is accidentally frozen on New Year's Eve 1999. He is awakened on New Year's Eve 2999 and tries to survive life in the 31st century. Additional Volumes Available in Library.
A wave of sheep-rustling sweeps the countryside, but Wallace and Gromit are too busy with their new window washing service to even notice the lamb that's consuming their home a mouthful at a time. It's going to take a daring jailbreak, the help of a whole flock of sheep, and a wild and woolly chase before Wallace and Gromit can unravel the mystery.
Demonstrates and discusses the different methods and techniques of making and filming animation. Techniques included are: puppet filming action, puppet and set creation, filming and setup of animation created by cutout pictures, and pixillation--animating real people.
Based on his master class, animator Richard Williams provides the underlying principles of animation that every animator -- from beginner to expert, classic animator to computer animation whiz -- needs. Urging his students to "invent but be believable," he illustrates his points with hundreds of drawings, distilling the secrets of the masters into a working system. Williams demonstrates essential techniques required of animators of any skill level or method, and also covers such topics as animal
A little girl ignores her mother's warning to stay out of the forest, and the Gunny Wolf captures her. She soothes him to sleep with a nonsense song and then runs safely home. The film resulted from a California kindergarten project, in which students heard the story and then retold it, illustrating it with tempera paintings. The paintings were then animated, and the voices of the children provide the narration.
Everything Will Be OK won the 2007 Sundance Film Festival Jury Award in Short Filmmaking, a prize rarely bestowed on an animated film. To date it has won 40 awards, including the Grand Jury Award for Best Film at the London International Animation Festival and the Lawrence Kasdan Award for Narrative Film from the Ann Arbor Film Festival
This animated adaptation based on Hemingway's novel comes to vibrant life as we follow the fisherman Santiago setting forth to do battle with the giant marlin. Academy Award for Best Animated Short, 1999.
Using photocopies with images scratched into India ink on glossy paper, this timeless tale of self-affirmation is a rich blend of fantasy and poetry where a little girl finds acceptance in embracing her own difference.
One of Portugal's most acclaimed animated films, Pessoa's drawings were transferred to glossy paper, brushed with India ink, scratched with a blade to give the effect of an engraving, then photographed.
Access to 1,488 images of costumes through the ages from the six volume slide collection History of Costume by Jeanne Button, Patricia Quinn Stuart and Stephen Sbarge. Textual description for images of each period is included as a PDF.