Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education @ Webster University Library

This guide details education resources and research help for students and faculty in the School of Education

Teaching with Library Databases

If you have pre-selected course readings from library databases or websites,

  • Include a full citation when listing the item on course documents, such as WorldClassroom or the syllabus.
  • You can choose to upload PDF files to your course page in WorldClassroom or, with 5-business days advance notice, ask the library’s eReserves staff to upload the files for you.
  • Alternately, you can paste the link to the database record or the webpage to allow students to access the full-text for themselves.
  • When you upload or link to content from a library database:
    • The link should include the library proxy server string (library3.webster.edu/) so that users are prompted to log in to the database as a member of the Webster community.
    • The database itself may have a built-in tool to generate citation and/or a permanent URL that includes the proxy string.

Follow Copyright & Fair Use guidelines when posting or distributing all content to students.  

Collaborate with your subject librarian to:

  • Share your research assignment or design one with us in advance (1 to 2 weeks, please) to ensure resources are available.
  • Link students to pre-recorded videos and training tips such as our recorded online presentations, or 
  • If your students might benefit from targeted library instruction, work with us to create a video tutorial and front-load it into your class to save time and student frustration.

Library Instruction and Help for Students

 

As your Education Librarian, I work with you to integrate library databases and services into your courses wherever you teach in the world of Webster.  Let's work together to create training materials that make library resources of practical use to your students. I can help you:

  • Identify existing training materials (research guides, recorded webinars, etc.) that support your assignments
  • Create a library instruction session specifically for your class. Sessions may be delivered during class-time or recorded in advance.
  • Design training documents or how-to videos to demonstrate information literacy concepts and/or how to use library databases efficiently.
  • Reinforce course concepts with relevant articles, books, and videos.
  • Create course or program Research Guides, like this one, to provide students with an orientation to library resources and services.
  • Scaffold assignments across a program/major to build upon common research experiences of students.
  • Introduce training materials at the student's point of need in WorldClassroom.

In addition to training delivered through your course, the library's Research Desk is staffed almost 100 hours per week, including evenings and weekends, to support individual faculty and student research, and our chat service is available 24/7. I can also schedule one-on-one training sessions or work via email with students who need in-depth help with research. 

Purchasing Materials for the Library

 

As your liaison, I work with you to build quality library collections in electronic and print formats.  Our mission is to collect resources that are appropriate for university-level teaching, study and research and that support Webster's curriculum at home and extended campuses and online.  In doing so, we place a strong emphasis on online resources.

 

Funds are available to purchase books and eBooks, DVDs, journals and trade publications, and databases (which often contain collections of materials). Please contact your Department Chair or me to suggest resources.

Help with Faculty Research and Publishing

I am happy to work with you on your own research.  I can provide support that includes suggesting appropriate databases and helping you search them, creating lists of articles on your topic and limited clerical support. If you're looking for a journal in which to publish, you might be interested in the titles we subscribe to under Education -- Periodicals.