Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FREN 4650 - Chansons: Politics and Poetics of Francophone Songs

This guide will help you find articles, books, and other resources to help research a song of your choice, including the genre, the historical context, the influence and more.

Start with a General Database

I would recommend starting your research in Academic Search Premier, a multidisciplinary full-text database that that covers magazines and journals on all disciplines including history, social sciences, fine arts, etc.

Example Searches

When searching for articles in a database, use keywords such as the musician, location, time period that you are researching. For example, I did a search in Academic Search Premier for "Charles Aznavour," the Franco-Armenian singer and "Turkey," the subject of many of his songs and political statements. 

A screenshot of a search in Academic Search Complete for "Charles Aznavour" AND "turkey"

 

Add Social and Cultural Databases

You can expand your search to any of these more specific historical and cultural databases below. Any of the databases provided by EBSCO can be searched at the same time as Academic Search Premier if you click "Choose Databases" above the search bar and find the databases on the pop-up menu.

*JSTOR and Project MUSE must be searched individually. They are not included in the package from EBSCO.. 

A screenshot of the search bar in Academic Search Complete, with the "Choose Databases" option highlighted.