Use the following databases to find articles in the fields of health administration and healthcare.  In the boxes below the lists, find tips for searching some of these databases. 

Healthcare or medical care databases

The business of healthcare

Healthcare policy and administration

Specialized medicine/healthcare

Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, Medline covers all areas of bio-medical literature. Subjects include clinical and experimental medicine, education, health services administration, nursing, nutrition, veterinary medicine and more.

Searching Medline for Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

Not sure of the word or phrase the database uses to describe your topic? Select the MeSH 2022 tab from the top, left menu to browse/search the list of MESH subject headings. If you have a good idea of the term you want bullet Term Begins With or Term Contains. If you are less certain, bullet Relevancy Ranked to provide a more comprehensive list of terms used by the database. 

Commonly-used subject headings (This list is not exhaustifve.)

Use the following as words or phrases in your search if you want to focus on a specific healthcare setting or management issue. In the examples below, Medline subject headings are in italics. The information in [brackets] is the scope note from the MESH list of subject headings. 

• Hospitals
  • add a more specific term if applicable, e.g. hospitals, public 
    • community, county, maternity, military, municipal, pediatric, private, psychiatric, rehabilitation, religious, rural, teaching, university, veterans
• Departments -- use the more specific term with the type of facility, e.g. Emergency service, hospital
  • Department names may be followed by either depatment or service -- omit or search for both
    • Admitting department, Anesthesia department, Cardiology service, Food service, Oncology service, Outpatient clinics, Radiology department, Respiratory therapy department, Surgery deparment
• ​​​​​​​Cancer care facilities
• Health facilities [Institutions which provide medical or health-related services.]
• Health facility -- use as an adjective with more specific terms, e.g. Health faciltiy merger
  • administration, administrators, closure, planning, size, 
• Home care services
• Hospital bed capacity
• Hospital charges [The price the hospital sets for its services.]
• Hospital costs [The expenses incurred by a hospital in providing care.]
• Hospital-patient relations
• Laboratories
• Managment issues -- use a more specific term and add the type of facility, e.g. Hospital administration 
  • financial management, personnel, materials management, planning, purchasing, records, restructuring, 
• Nursing homes
• Personnel management  -- Use a more specific term and the type of facility if applicable, e.g. Medical staff, hospital
  • Administrators, Chief executive officers, Internship and residentcy, Nursing staff, Physical therapists, Professional staff committees, 
• Residential facilities 
• Staffing issues -- use more specific term
  • Attidtudes of health personnel, Medical staff privileges, Personnel downsizing, Work engagement, Workload

Covers practice magazines and scholarly, peer-reviewed journals from a variety of publications. Some common health administration subject search terms include: 

• Health care reform
• Health facilities -- use narrower term if applicable, e.g. hospitals, and add addtional words to focus your search
  •    administration
  •    business management
• Health care industry -- management
• Health funding
• Health insurance
• Health services administration
• Medicaid
• Medical care  -- cost control
• Medical care costs
• Medical personnel (use narrower term if applicable, e.g. physicians)
• Medicare
• Managed care plans

A tip sheet that shows how to do a broad search and focus your results using the date, subjects, peer-reviewed journals, etc. is linked below. 

Here are a couple of tip sheets on using advanced features within Webster University Libraries' databases, which include:

• Full-text: where to locate the full text of an article
• Cite tool: how to generate a citation, e.g., in APA or MLA format
• Folder tool: how to save items to EBSCO folders for future use

Search the Journals and Magazines A-Z list to discover if the periodical you seek is one of more than 80,000 titles available full-text online or in print from the library.