Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Resources Development @ Webster University Libraries

Need help?  Ask us!

Use our Contact a Librarian service to reach a Research Librarian by phone (314-968-6950 or 1-800-985-4270) or drop-in (see our library and research desk hours) or email or chat, 24/7

 (MS Clipart)

Business & Management Librarian

Request books or articles

If the full-text is not available online (e.g. via Article Linker for articles or as an eBook), see our Request Books or Articles page to learn how the library can help students, faculty and staff to obtain the text (at no cost to you).

Journals (e.g. peer-reviewed) vs. trade publications vs. popular magazines

If in doubt, ask your professor what kinds of periodicals s/he prefers you to use for the assignment.

Periodical descriptions

Journals:  May be called scholarly or academic periodicals.  Journal articles are written by practitioners, theorists or educators in a field or discipline and often report experimental and/or theoretical research. Peer-review: Experts, or the author's peers in the field, may review articles before publication. 

Trade publications: Often written by specialists in an industry or business activity (e.g. accounting, HR, sales), they report trends or offer practical applications or tips for those working or studying in the field.

Magazines & Newspapers: Called popular periodicals, they are written by staff writers and report current events and news for general readers.

If in doubt, ask your professor what kinds of periodicals they prefer that you to use for the assignment.

Comprehensive business article databases

These databases provide broad coverage of business and management topics. These databases are smart choices in which to start your research. 

Business Source Complete

Here are some often-used subject search terms to describe human resources development in the Business Source Complete database.  Combine them with other keywords to focus your search. 

  • Personnel management (Note: human resources is not a subject term in this database)
  • Career development
  • Continuing education
  • Corporate reorganizations
  • Employees – Rating of
  • Employee training
  • Executives -- Training of
  • Occupational training
  • Organizational change
  • Organizational learning
  • Professional ethics
  • Vocational guidance

 

Additional article databases

These databases may provide a different focus for your search. You might use them in addition to one of the comprehensive databases listed above, or if you have a multidisciplinary topic.

Looking for a specific article or periodical, e.g Harvard Business Review?

Search the Journal / magazine / newspaper A-Z list to discover if the periodical you seek is one of more than 80,000 titles available full-text online or in print from the library.