Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Administration @ Webster University Library

Company directory databases

Searching the Business Source Complete database for company directory information

  • From within the Business Source Complete database (login using link from database list below):
  • Click on the Company Information tab
  • Find and link to the company you seek. 
  • See the navigation menus on the company profile page to link to link to:
    •  periodicals (journals, trade publications, magazines or newspapers) or books
    •  reports like SWOT analyses, industry or market research and product reviews from publishers such as MarketLine (formerly Datamonitor) and Barnes
    • company hierarchy
    • financials (brief), subsidiaries, products, executives, industry codes (NAICS)

Business Source Complete company information profile for Nike

Company financials & investment databases

What are financial ratios?

Ratios are a mathematical comparison of two quantities, for example, the price-earnings ratio used to analyze a stock. Ratios of one firm are often compared across time, with those of a similar company, or with all firms in the industry, i.e. an industry ratio or industry average.  

Some major forms of financial ratios are:

  • profitability (e.g. earnings per share)
  • liquidity / risk (e.g. current ratio, quick ratio)
  • efficiency (e.g. price-to-earnings ratio)

For additional information see Financial ratios and statement analysis. (2005). In Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management (2nd ed., pp. 194-198). Malden, MA: Blackwell. Retrieved July 5, 2011, from Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Database for finding company ratios

Databases for finding industry ratios