Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Career Resources

Accessing library databases

You must be a currently registered Webster University student or staff member to access these resources online from anywhere you are in the world of Webster. Are you a Webster alum? Come to the Library or a Webster campus site and we'll log you in. Or, your local public or academic library may allow access to these, or similar databases.  

Click the database category (at left) to jump to that list

Personal & skill development

Company directories     

     Large and mid-sized companies            

Industry reports              
Job & internship search      Small to large companies and geographic directories Newspaper articles

For a complete list of library databases: http://library.webster.edu/databases/index.html

On the Career Planning & Development Center website, log in to Handshake to access Going Global, a resource that includes a global employer directory, industry information, and a job & internship search.  

Personal & skill development

Need to learn or brush up on Microsoft Excel or PowerPoint or Word; or want grammar, math, science or writing tutorials; or want to prepare for an occupational exam? These resources can help!

Jobs and internships search

Handshake, Webster University's online career management system, enables you to manage your job or internship search process and many aspects of your academic and professional career. Start your job search here!

Or, search the library's Reference Solutions database, which includes a job and internship search in addition to allowing you to search a directory of companies.

Here's the advanced search form for jobs and internships from the Reference Solutions database. This page includes tips on your job search and for using the Reference Solutions database.  

Industry reports

Industry reports cover the economic factors that may affect your target company.  They can often give you talking points for your interview. This is especially helpful for small companies that may not have directory listings or newspaper articles written about them. 

Newspaper article databases

Check here to find national and local newspaper articles on a company or the associated industry or people (e.g. owners, CEO, board members).

If you are not in Missouri, check with your public library for access to local newspapers.