LibGuides: Multicultural & Diversity Resources: Recommended Databases

Multicultural and Gender Studies Databases

Best Bet

Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. EBSCO

Best Bet

RDA Contemporary Women's Issues

A bibliographic index that provides abstracts and full text for international literature in the field of Women's Studies. Subject coverage includes domestic violence, employment and the workplace, gender equity, the family, lesbian studies, reproductive health, and human rights. Materials indexed range from journals, books, and the alternative press to gray literature compiled from overlooked or hard-to-find newsletters and Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) research reports.

Best Bet

Gender Studies Collection

A database that provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more

Best Bet

JSTOR

Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Does not provide the most current issues, usually has a rolling end date of 2-5 years.

Best Bet

Diversity Studies Collection

Diversity Studies Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework.

Best Bet

SocIndex with Full Text

Indexes, abstracts, and provides some full text of journals in all sub-disciplines of sociology. Also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers.

Additional Databases

World History in Context

A resource that delivers a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.

ERIC (an Ebscohost education database

(Educational Resources Information Center) An online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, providing free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials.

Project Muse

Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.