American Indian Movement -Pledged to fight White Man's injustice to Indians, his oppression, persecution, discrimination and malfeasance in the handling of Indian Affairs. No area in North America is too remote when trouble impends for Indians. AIM shall be there to help the Native People regain human rights and achieve restitution and restorations.
Asian American Curriculum Project- The Asian American Curriculum Project, Inc. has been an award winning non-profit voluntary educational organization since 1969, originally named the Japanese American Curriculum Project JACP, Inc. Since then, they have grown to offer the most complete collection of Asian American books. The books and other materials offered are for all age groups, all levels of education and all Asian ethnic groups; including and not limited to Cambodian, Chinese, Filipino, Hmong, Indian, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Samoan, Tongan, Thai, & Vietnamese Americans and Hawaiians. Materials include literature, folk tales, posters, magazine, tapes on language and music, games, activities, teachers guides, dictionaries, bilingual materials and reference books on history, social issues and education.
African American History and Culture; Encyclopedia Smithsonian - Find great information here about African American artists, inventors, musicians and important people in U.S. history.
American Indian History; Library of Congress- This page contains selected collections available online about American Indian history.
Asian Pacific American History and Culture- (Smithsonian) Explore the history of Asian Pacific Americans and their contributions to our country.
Beauty Surrounds Us ; National Museum of the American Indian - (Smithsonian) This web exhibit also provides an activity for each section the exhibit is divided into, such as Tools of Existence, Recreation and Pastimes, Design as Identity, and Expressions of Identity. The activity tests a visitor's comprehension and memory of the objects written descriptions given when you click on the objects picture.
Black History- Six Web sites were created as models to suggest ways to integrate the World Wide Web and videoconferencing into classroom learning. African-American History was chosen as a topic because of its importance, popularity and the wealth of Internet resources available on the topic.
Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage - (Smithsonian Institution) This site explores the understanding and continuity of diverse, contemporary grassroots cultures in the United States and around the world.
The Civil Rights Project, -originally housed at Harvard University, this leading research center on civil rights in US schools was founded by Gary Orfield, and has moved to UCLA. The mission of the Civil Rights Project/Proyecto Derechos Civiles is to help renew the civil rights movement by bridging the worlds of ideas and action, to be a preeminent source of intellectual capital within that movement, and to deepen the understanding of the issues that must be resolved to achieve racial and ethnic equity as society moves through the great transformation of the 21st century.
Diversity/Multiculturalism Links- from the Center for Research on Education, Diversity, and Excellence (CREDE).
GLSEN - The Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network, or GLSEN, is working to ensure safe and effective schools for all students.
Global Education Conference Network-The Global Education Conference Network is a collaborative, inclusive, world-wide community initiative involving students, educators, and organizations at all levels. Their activities are designed to significantly increase opportunities for connecting classrooms while supporting cultural awareness and recognition of diversity and educational access for all. They also have a new web site, GlobalEd Events, that aggregates all of their activities.
Multicultural Pavilion- Multicultural education resources for educators, students, and activists.
Multicultural Supersite- The McGraw-Hill Multicultural Supersite attempts to narrow the gap between multicultural education theory and practice through a collection of information and original resources for in-service teachers, pre-service teachers, and teacher educators.
National Women's History Project - An educational nonprofit organization whose mission is to recognize and celebrate the diverse and historic accomplishments of women by providing information and educational materials and programs.
Native Village - NATIVE VILLAGE website was created for youth, educators, families, and friends who wish to celebrate the rich, diverse cultures of The Americas? First Peoples. The Native Village website was the recipient of the 2002 Multicultural Media Award from the National Association for Multicultural Education (NAME).
Pew Hispanic Center- The Pew Hispanic Center?s mission is to improve understanding of the diverse Hispanic population in the United States and to chronicle Latinos? growing impact on the nation. The Center strives to inform debate on critical issues through dissemination of its research to policymakers, business leaders, academic institutions and the media.
Southern Poverty Law Center - The Southern Poverty Law Center is a nonprofit organization that combats hate, intolerance and discrimination through education and litigation. Its programs include the Intelligence Project, Teaching Tolerance and Tolerance.org. The Center also sponsors the Civil Rights Memorial, which celebrates the memory of those who died during the Civil Rights Movement.
Tolerance.org- Tolerance.org is a principal online destination for people interested in dismantling bigotry and creating, in hate?s stead, communities that value diversity.
Understanding Prejudice.org- a web site for students, teachers, and others interested in the causes and consequences of prejudice.
DiversityInc.com - Offers information on how diversity affects companies' relationships with their employees, suppliers, customers and investors.
FCC Diversity Resource Directory – One-stop resource that contains information on diversity efforts implemented in various organizations, diversity studies performed, employment research, and trade association and foundation programs.
Multicultural Media - Specializes in producing and distributing world music and dance CDs, Videos and DVDs.
Multicultural Pavilion: Resources and Dialogues for Equity in Education -Resources and information provided for multicultural education.
The National Association for Ethnic Studies, Inc.- This organization promotes activities and scholarship in the field of ethnic studies.
National MultiCultural Institute- A non-profit organization which provides diversity training, publications, and resources.
New America Media - A national collaboration of ethnic news organizations.