Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ADVT 4190 - Advertising Research

A resource guide for ADVT 4190 - Advertising Research

Consumer demographic databases

MRI University Reporter database

To begin: Select the database link above and follow the directions to register your personal account using your Webster University email address.  This account will allow you to access/login to the database and create and manage your own lists. You may need to periodically re-register your account for it to remain active.  

After you login to the database and your account:

  1. Select the University Reporter module
  2. Select the most recent* reporter
  3. Search by product or brand name 
  4. Or, browse by category (see image at left from GfK reporter) 

* To reduce costs, the most recent report available to university subscriptions will be at least one year old.

A video on how to create and interpret a base report is available from Dr Baker at SDSU Marketing  (Creative Commons Attribution license -- reuse allowed) 

ReferenceUSA database - US Consumer/Lifestyles module

ReferenceUSA provides access to two databases:

- US Businesses covers 14 million companies

- US Consumers / Lifestyles covers 200 million consumers

The Consumers / Lifestyles module's Custom Search allows one to search across geographic, demographic and lifestyle data:   

   - Housing - home value and household income

   - Lifestyles - from apparel choices to travel.

   - Consumer Snapshot - age, gender, ethnicity, religion, political party, years in home, etc. This data is considered "sensitive" and is reported only in the aggregated level; that is, individual consumers are not identified. 

(image from ReferenceUSA database)

A video on searching the US Consumer / Lifestyle module is available on YouTube.