Find Articles - EDUC 3125 - Technology in the Classroom

Need help? Ask a librarian or chat

Need Help?

Ask A Librarian for help finding sources, narrowing or expanding your topic, and more!

Research Desk: 314-246-6950
Toll-free: 800-985-4279
Visit us: Library and research desk hours
Search our FAQs or email us
Chat, 24/7

Search ERIC

ERIC is the main database that you will use to do research in the field of Education. Try a search below!

ERIC Documents

Webster Library Subscribes to ERIC Database

Webster Library owns Microform June 1995-July 2004

Wash U has extensive backfiles of ERIC Documents on Microform: (1966-1982 at West Campus MFs; 1983- 2004 in West Campus Microforms)

According to the ERIC Website: The documents that are currently available on microfiche, but not online, can be found here. Note that ERIC is in the process of actively restoring documents that were taken offline due to readability issues, although not all of these documents are restorable. This list will be updated periodically to reflect any new documents made available online through the PDF restoration process.

ERIC Keep List (July 2014)

Popular vs. Scholarly

Scholarly articles are sometimes also called "peer-reviewed" because they are evaluated by other scholars or experts in the field. A scholarly article is commonly longer than a magazine article.

The clearest and most reliable indicator of a scholarly article is the presence of references or citations.

Many of our databases allow you to limit your search to just scholarly articles. This is a useful feature, but it is not 100% accurate in terms of what it includes and what it excludes. You should still check to see if the article has references or citations.

How Do I Recognize a Scholarly Article?

Top Picks for Education Databases

ERIC (education)
Articles, papers, reports, etc. on education issues. This database from the Educational Resource Information Center combines coverage of Resources in Education (RIE) and Journals in Education (CIJE) to provide access to journal articles and ERIC documents. All aspects of education are covered in this database. Covers 1966 to the present.
APA PsycInfo (psychology)
Articles and other materials on all areas of psychology and related fields. Lists materials on all areas of psychology and related fields. It is produced by the American Psychological Association and covers from 1887 to the present. Indexes over 2100 journals, as well as selected dissertations and books.
APA PsycArticles (psychology)
Contains more than 72,000 searchable full-text articles from over 40 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.

More Education Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
A comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)
Indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. Most of the journals indexed in Teacher Reference Center are peer-reviewed. Topics include: assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science & mathematics, and teacher education.
MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCO)
A general reference database designed for high school and junior college students. It provides articles and reports from hundreds of K-12 magazines, Essential Documents in American History ( a database of over 1,000 original historical documents), CIA World Factbook, Magill's Book Reviews, and full text for many Macmillan reference books.