History @ Webster University Library

This tutorial will give you some evaluation criteria to help you judge the quality of a website and its information and to determine if the information is appropriate for your research.

The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you evaluate the information you find on the Internet (from California State University - Chino).

Lists several hundred history-related resources organized by type and subject.

Lists several hundred history-related resources organized by type and subject.

This model site created by librarians and historians at the state and university library at Göttingen, Germany serves as a major gateway to scholarly information in history. The site links to over 1400 resources that are described and evaluated.

Indexes over 2,500 collections of oral history from archives and repositories around the world. Links to full text, audio or video if available. Much of the content is freely available on the Web. Proprietary content from the Alexander Street Press database is available only by subscription.

Links to comprehensive indexes (e.g. Yahoo), information on grants and conferences, and links to international www servers.

Has resources organized by era, region, and subject.

Extensive links to sources on all aspects of history.

Searchable site offering course materials, translations of original sources, critial materials, images, archives of a related discussion list, etc.

Excellent site for texts, images, maps, and historical information on the ancient world. Also includes teaching materials.

Covers medieval history, literature, art, music, culture, Chaucer, Middle English and other medieval literatures. Helpful for its evaluative annotations.

Georgetown University's collection of online resources for the study of the Middle Ages. Covers medieval literature, history, art and culture, and contains electronic texts, teaching resources, and professional information.

Gateway site to medieval resources. Site categories cover archaeology, art & architecture, Arthuriana, civilizations, culture, drama, literature, music, people, philosophy, religion, science & technology, and women.

A site designed for medieval scholars and students. Provides textbooks and other classroom resources, an encyclopedia, original texts, related links, and peer-reviewed articles.

Attractive site which provides brief discussions and related links concerning the major events and developments during the Renaissance, including exploration, printing, science, the arts, etc.

Select list of annotated sites helpful to the scholar or student. Areas covered includes the arts and humanities, history, religion, science, and primary texts.

This collection of links goes beyond the literary to include materials on art, science, religion, and philosophy of the period.

Interviews with prominent individuals worldwide on a variety of topics, including economics, politics and the military, the law, culture and society, etc. Users can find interviews by name, profession, topic, and date.

Focuses on Western civilization, especially European and American history. Offers primary source materials as well as selected links to related sites.