Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Counseling @ Webster University Libraries

General information on requesting materials

The Webster University Library helps students, faculty, and staff worldwide borrow or obtain a copy of material that either we own or is available from another library. This service is offered without charge but there may be limits due to location, copyright, etc.

Visit our Request articles or books page to request the materials you need.

To request to borrow DVDs owned by the library, see below for borrowing materials listed in Webster's library catalog (available to U.S. only). Faculty teaching in the U.S.A. may reserve videos to show in their classroom using our DVD and Videotape Reservation Form.

If I find an article listed in a database but there's no full-text link, what do I do?

In most of our databases, you will probably see a link called "Article Linker" as in the example below. Click the Article Linker link to see how to obtain the full-text. For more information, visit our Article Linker guide.

How can I borrow materials listed in Webster's library catalog? (U.S. only)

We will send any Webster/Eden-owned circulating materials (those with a Status of "Available") to our US extended campus students, faculty, and staff with a return mailer.  In the library catalog, do a search and bring up the full record for an item. Click on the “Request” link. You will be asked to enter your name and your Webster identification number followed by the letters “EWL” (e.g. 1234567ewl). Next you will see a drop-down list of pickup locations. Choose “Webster Univ US Sites”.  This option will tell us to send the item to you at the address we have on record.

 

 

 

Request books or articles

If the full-text is not available online (e.g. via Article Linker for articles or as an eBook), see our Request Books or Articles page to learn how the library can help students, faculty and staff to obtain the text (at no cost to you).

Finding or requesting article full-text

From a library database

When the PDF or HTML full-text is not available in one of our databases, save yourself time by using the Article Linker button. Article Linker may allow you to link to the text in another database or request a copy of the article.

From another source (e.g. online, Google Scholar)

Many articles that you find online may require payment (aka paywall) to download the article. In many cases the library can get the article for you for free to keep you from having to pay out of pocket. 

Requesting articles

For more information, please visit our Request Articles & Books page or Contact a Librarian for help. 

Mobius basic

Mobius is an agreement that allows Webster (in Missouri) to request books from other member libraries. If we do not have a book that you need, or it is checked out, search the Mobius catalog and place a request! Follow the steps below, and contact a librarian at library.webster.edu for immediate help. 

 

Step 1: Go to the Mobius catalog from our homepage or from the library catalog 

 

 

Below: Access Mobius from the library homepage

 

Below: Click Search Mobius to access the Mobius catalog from the Webster University Library catalog 

Step 2: Search the catalog for a topic or specific book 

You can use the limiters on the left side of the screen to narrow your sources, and find more specific results. 

Step 3: When you find an interesting book, click the title to find out more. You can read a summary and see where the book is located. If you'd like to request the book, click Request it. 

 

Step 4: Choose your library from the list. Ours is Mobius- Webster University- Eden Theological Seminary 

Step 5: Complete the form and submit. Add your first and last name, 7 digit Webster ID number followed by EWL (example: 9999999EWL), and choose Webster Univ, Emerson Library. Then click Submit and you will see a confirmation.

Online students and those studying at Missouri extended sites may choose Webster Univ, US Sites to have books mailed to them with postage paid. 

Step 6: When your book arrives, you will receive an email notification at your Webster University email address. You may then visit the first-floor service desk with your student ID to pick it up.