Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Counseling @ Webster University Library

Searching for ACA journals in the PsycInfo database

If you are required to use counseling journals in your assignment, follow the steps below to find articles from American Counseling Association (ACA) publications. This will allow you to search all the ACA journals in the PsycInfo database at once on a topic of your choosing.

1. Log in to the PsycInfo database.

2. In the top search box, type "American Counseling Assn". Be sure to use quotation marks. Note there is no period between Assn and the closing quotation mark.

3. In the corresponding box to the right, select PB publisher from the drop-down list.

4. To focus your search, you may insert a topic (e.g. grief counseling) in the search boxes directly underneath. Then press the Search button.

5. Additional options will appear on the left of the screen when you get your results.

Note: PsycInfo includes most, but not all of the journals published by the American Counseling Association. Instructions for searching the titles that are covered in the ERIC database are below.

Search for ACA journals in the ERIC database

The ERIC database covers only a few of the journals published by the American Counseling Association:

  • Adultspan
  • Career Development Quarterly
  • Family Journal: Counseling and Therapy for Couples and Families

You will need to search each title individually. Here's how:

1. Log in to the ERIC database.

2. In the top search box, type the journal title enclosed in quotation marks.

3. In the corresponding box to the right, select SO Journal Title from the drop-down list.

4. To focus your search, you may insert a topic (e.g. grief counseling) in the search boxes directly underneath. Then press the Search button.

5. Additional options will appear on the left of the screen when you get your results.

Note: ERIC covers only a few of the journals published by the American Counseling Association. Instructions for searching the titles that are covered in the PsycInfo database are above.