Scholarly journal articles - GLBC 1200 - Explore U - LibGuides at Webster University

Where do I start to find scholarly articles?

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
A scholarly multidisciplinary database of periodical articles, most with full-text, through Ebscohost.

Where can I find articles that focus on psychological, social or cultural issues?

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Includes the content from two established indexes, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, as well as other major journals in these disciplines. The full-text for over 200 titles is provided.
PsycInfo (EBSCO)
A database consisting of over 4 million abstract records of peer-reviewed literature in psychology, counseling and related fields, 1897- present.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
Replaces Sociological Abstracts as the premier database in the area of sociology. It covers the content from Sociological Abstracts and provides additional full-text of books, conference papers, and articles, as well as back files which in some cases extend back to 1895.

Additional databases available from the Webster U. Library

Why not just use Google Scholar?

Google Scholar can be a useful source for finding journal articles, but there are advantages found in the article databases offered through the Webster U. Library, including:

features that let you customize your search
access to more full text
integration with other library services (e.g. chat, delivery services, etc.).

Librarians are available to offer suggestions for how best to find the information you need.

Connecting Google Scholar to Webster University Library content

Google Scholar Homepage
In Google Scholar homepage, look for the three horizontal lines in the upper left corner of the screen.

Google Scholar Settings
In Settings, click on "Library Links" option in the left navigation. Make sure all Webster University checkboxes are selected then Save.

Finding article in full-text result

Steps:

1. Enter keyword into the "Search box".

2. Search result at the right column with full-text options available at Webster University Library.

3. Filtering result at the left column.