Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Counseling: New Student Guide

Why journals?

Journals are important because they:

  • contain original research 
  • are usually more current than other resources (e.g. books, encyclopedias)
  • may have passed a quality control process known as "peer review"

Where can I find articles from these scholarly journals?

Journal articles are found by searching some sort of online database. To find articles on a counseling topic, you may use:

  • PsycInfo (database with extensive coverage of journals in counseling, psychology, psychiatry, and related areas).
  • Other useful databases as listed in the Counseling Research Guide. 
  • Google Scholar (lacks some of the content and features that PsycInfo offers but can be used as a starting point. Follow up in PsycInfo and other relevant databases when you need to do a comprehensive search of the literature.)

Where can I find articles from counseling-oriented journals?

Many journals with a counseling-oriented focus can be found through using PsycInfo, Google Scholar, and other online databases. To see a list of ones that are available through the library, visit the ACA Journals page in the Counseling Research Guide.

How can I learn to use databases such as PsycInfo to find articles on a topic?

Help with searching is available from many sources, including:

  • in the database you are searching (look for a Help link, often at the top of the page)
  • instructional materials such as videos on the Internet
  • librarians at Webster University (see our contact elsewhere on this page)

Here are links to some videos on using PsycInfo: