Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUSC 4140 - Lyric Diction

MUSC 4140 -- Robert Ayllon

Digital Object Identifier (DOI)

Digital Object Identifier (DOI)

Since 2000 there has been an effort to assign everything that exists in the digital world such as online articles with a unique number called a Digital Object Identifier or a DOI.  The DOI is unique, permanent, and persistent. It remains the same despite changes in URL's or permanent removal from the Internet.

In APA and AMA styles, use the DOI in citations whenever one is listed.

Webster Writing Center and Online Writing Center

Webster U's Writing Center and Online Writing Center

Whether you are an experienced academic writer or this is your first paper, Webster's Writing Center is here to help. Visit their Writing Support page to find help with all kinds of project, including "reports; résumés and cover letters; admission essays and personal statements; summaries, critical analyses, and literature reviews; research and term papers; theses and dissertations; and more." Writing Center coaches are available at all stages of the writing process: assignment discussion, brainstorming, outlining, thesis creation and development, argumentation, draft revision, and citation.

From this page you may:

  • Schedule an appointment with a writing coach
  • Submit a paper to the Online Writing Center for review
  • Select Writing Resources to find help with citation, grammar, avoiding plagiarism, and more

Academic Integrity and Plagiarism Information

Academic Integrity and Plagiarism Information

How do I cite the library's databases?

When you cite a full text article retrieved from a library database, some citation styles require you to cite the database name and/or a URL. Here’s how Webster’s most-used citation styles address this issue: 

APA (7th): Requires that one include only the Digital Object Identifier / DOI if available. If there is no DOI listed in the database or on the article itself do not include any database information nor a URL.   

MLA (9th); Chicago; AMA; Harvard: If there is a DOI, add both it and the database name to the citation. If a DOI is not available, include the database name and provide the database permalink or, if no permalink, a URL. Our FAQ, finding a database permalink, shows how to obtain a permalink from two of our biggest database platforms, ProQuest and EBSCOhost.  

Be sure to check the appropriate citation guide for how to format the citation in the style required for your assignment.  

APA Citation (7th edition)

Help with APA Citation (7th ed.)

The 7th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association was released in October 2019. Be sure to check with your instructor about which edition to use.

AMA Citation Guide

MLA Citation Guides Online

MLA Citation Guides Online

Chicago/Turabian Citation Guide

Chicago/Turabian Citation Guide