Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Needful Terms for New Librarians

This guide is for new employees at Emerson Library. It is designed to help these employees learn key terms, tools, and concepts so that they can integrate quickly into library operations.

The Library and its parts

The Library and its Parts

Accessibility Suite: At the south end of the second floor across from the restrooms, this area has equipment to assist patrons with visual and other disabilities.

Archives: The University Archives are located on the lower level by the Bound Periodicals. Access requests must go through the University Archivist.

Bound Periodicals: Located on the lower level, this is where all non-digitized journal articles may be found.

Curriculum Collection (Special Collections): This area of shelving is east of the eCommons and Reference stacks. It houses educational resources and children/juvenile/YA materials, specifically for education majors but usable by all. There are special collection resources here as well, mostly in locked glass-front cabinets.

Cyber Cafe: The two-story annex to the main library at the north end of the building. It contains the Sun Coffee shop (also serving some snacks). In addition, it contains a number of computers which are available for students 24/7. The eCafe printer is located here. NAME LIABLE TO CHANGE.

eCommons: The area adjacent to the Research Desk on the second floor where the student-use computers are.

Eden: Eden Theological Seminary is across Lockwood Avenue from Webster University. We have a partnership with Eden wherein we house most of their library inventory and their students have access to our library.

Emerson (or Emerson-Luhr): The building in which you work. Short for Emerson Library or Emerson-Luhr Library (Luhr referring to the Seminary's library resources housed here).

Faculty Development Center (FDC): Refers to the fourth-floor suite containing the resources of the Faculty Development Center which helps provide faculty with teaching support, professional development, and "Learning about Learning".

First Floor Service Desk/Circulation Desk/Main Desk/Access Services Desk: Any of these names can be used to describe the Service Counter on the first floor that faces the Edgar Road entrance. It is here that all materials are checked out of the library.

Group Study Rooms: Any of a number of rooms located on all the floors where groups of students (from one to about fifteen) can go to study and work privately without interruption.

IRS Suite/ Room 219: Located at the southwest corner of the 2nd floor, this is where the Instruction & Research Services librarians have their offices. These librarians are responsible for a variety of library functions including instruction, liaison, research/reference, and archives.

Library Classroom/eClassroom/EC110: In the northwest corner of the first floor, this is where library instruction takes place, it is also reservable by faculty to use without the need of a librarian.

Library Conference Room (LCR)/Room 120: Located in the southwest corner of the first floor, this is the large meeting space available for reservation to various University-related groups.

Receiving Room: At the south end of the first floor. Requires ID card to enter. This room is the destination for most deliveries coming to the library. It is also where many supplies are stored (printer paper!) and is the home to staff mailboxes.

Reference Stacks: Next to and south of the eCommons, this is where the remainder of the print Reference collection is shelved.

Second-floor service desk/Research Services Desk:  At the top of the central staircase, adjacent to the eCommons. The workstation of the Research Librarians, where research questions are answered by chat, phone, email, and in person.

Webster University Libraries: The entire University Library system as a collective; physical, online, and international.