Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Senior Service College Fellowship Program Research (SSCF)

Guide created for the DAU SSCF program at Aberdeen Proving Ground

Legal & Government Finding Aids 

In many cases, a research project relating to procurement and acquisition will require research beyond books and articles into government documents, regulations/laws, and business profiles.  The information below and the Websites tab at left are intended to help you find these types of resources.

Military and Government Collection

Military and Government Collection is especially helpful when focusing on military acquisitions. It includes the full-text of specialized publications such as Air Force Journal of Logisitics and Defense AT&L as well as government documents, for example, GAO Reports.   Some common subject terms include

  • Air Force procurement
  • defense procurement
  • government purchasing
  • government spending policy
  • industrial procurement
  • public spending

Business Law Databases

If you want to search for a specific case or law review articles on a topic, start with WestLaw Campus Research.  WestLaw is one of the largest publishers of legal documents and research.

Related databases

WestLaw Campus Research

If you want to search for a specific case or law review articles on a topic, start with WestLaw Campus Research, our largest database of legal documents and researchHere's a document on how to search.

You may also search for documents in a practice area. 

  1. Click the Practice Areas tab at the top of the database home page
  2. If you want to search both federal and state materials, click the link at the right on the search bar. (Shown as "All Federal" in first image below.)
  3. Select the checkbox for each jurisdiction that you want to include.  We've checked "All" for both states and federal. Save the filter when prompted.
  4. Click one of the practice areas. We're using Labor & Employment. (See second image, below.)
  5. You must select one of the formats of information to search. We've selected Cases. 
  6. WestLaw will display the 10 most recent documents in that format. 
  7. To search for your topic, enter a search term in the search box or click "Advanced" for more information about how to search. We've searched for cases about family medical leave as an exact phrase.
  8. Notice that you may narrow / filter your results using the menu to the left.

Image 1

undefined

Image 2

undefined

Free websites for US legal resources

The Legal Information Institute (LII) at Cornell University Law School is a "small not-for-profit group that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost." They fulfill this mission by "publishing law online, for free, and creating materials that help people understand" the law. Collections include:
United States

U.S. States

  • State law resources
  • State statutes by topic

World -- National and International laws