Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Senior Service College Fellowship Program Research (SSCF)

Guide created for the DAU SSCF program at Aberdeen Proving Ground

Popular magazines vs Scholarly journal Articles

Periodical descriptions

Journals:  May be called scholarly or academic periodicals.  Journal articles are written by practitioners, theorists or educators in a field or discipline and often report experimental and/or theoretical research. Peer-review: Experts, or the author's peers in the field, may review articles before publication. 

Trade publications: Often written by specialists in an industry or business activity (e.g. accounting, HR, sales), they report trends or offer practical applications or tips for those working or studying in the field.

Magazines & Newspapers: Called popular periodicals, they are written by staff writers and report current events and news for general readers.

If in doubt, ask your professor what kinds of periodicals they prefer that you to use for the assignment.

Comprehensive business article databases

Comprehensive business article databases

These databases provide broad coverage of business and management topics. These databases are smart choices in which to start your research. 

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete offers primarily scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles from a variety of publications including Defense Acquisition Review Journal and Journal of Public Procurement. This database also includes the full-text of the GAO Reports. See the box at left for tips on searching this publication for procurement information.

Some common subject/keyword search terms  in this database include:    

  • business logistics
  • contracting out
  • defense contracts
  • government contractors
  • government purchasing
  • industrial procurement
  • inventory control
  • inventories
  • logistics
  • manufacturing processes
  • operations management
  • physical distribution of goods
  • public contracts
  • purchasing
  • supply chains
  • supply chain management

A tip sheet for finding subject terms and peer-reviewed journal articles for procurement and acquisitions topics follows.

ABI/Inform

ABI/Inform is another source for relevant articles including many in full-text from Government Procurement, Supply Chain Europe, and Logistics Manager.  Common subject terms relating to procurement in this database include

  • contract management
  • electronic commerce
  • government contracts
  • government purchasing
  • operations research
  • purchasing
  • purchasing contracts
  • supply chain management

Additional article databases

These databases may provide a different focus for your search. You might use them in addition to one of the comprehensive databases listed above, or if you have a multidisciplinary topic.

Scopus

Scopus provides a variety of resources on procurement and acquisition. Some related search terms include

  • supply chain
  • project management
  • e-procurement
  • logistics

Click below for a tip sheet on searcing the Scopus database for procurment articles.

Find full-text, create citations, add articles to a database folder

Database tools: find full-text, generate citations, and save to folders

Tip sheets on using library database tools to find the full-text of articles, use the database to generate a citation (in APA, MLA, and many other styles) and save items in folders for future use. 

Looking for a specific article or periodical, e.g Harvard Business Review?

Search the Journal / magazine / newspaper A-Z list to discover if the periodical you seek is one of more than 80,000 titles available full-text online or in print from the library.