Skip to main content

Business & Management @ Webster University Library

Using this guide and page

To find library resources to incorporate into your courses and teaching, click on other tabs on this guide (e.g. articles, company financials, training/tutorials, and videos) and/or the guide specifically for your program. 

On this page you may find help with

  • Finding library and other materials to use in your class
  • Arranging library instruction for your class
  • "Fair Use" of copyrighted materials
  • Suggesting materials for purchase for the library's collection
  • Your own research and publishing

Best practices for linking library eResources in your classroom

These suggestions apply to all eResources that you use to support your teaching including eBooks, streaming videos, and other items from the library's collection, periodical articles from library databases, open-access textbooks and Open Educational Resources, and other online resources (e.g. YouTube videos and websites). 

  • Provide a complete citation: It is always wise to provide a full citation for any materials that you wish students to access.  This will help our librarians help your students find your materials if the link doesn't work. 
  • Capture the direct URL: If the item is from a library database, capture the URL and add the library's proxy server string, https://library3.webster.edu/login?url=  (There are no spaces between ‘url=’ and the URL for the online resource .) Or, you may copy and paste the 'permalink' or 'share' link from the database record. Users will then be able to access the eResource via the library's website and be prompted to log in order to access/link to it.
  • Limit access to the copy: If you're using a copyrighted work, store the file in your World Classroom / Canvas course page to limit access to only students enrolled in the course.  

If you need help capturing URLs or citations, please contact a Librarian or your subject liaison librarian.

Best practices for teaching with library databases

Link students to their program research guide (curated lists of best databases, search tips and training).

If you have pre-selected course readings from library databases or websites:

  • Include a full citation when listing the item on course documents, e.g. World Classroom (WCR) or the syllabus
  • Upload PDF files to your World Classroom course page or, with 5-business days advance notice, ask the library’s eReserves staff to do so for you, or 
  • link to the website or database record for the item to allow students to access the full-text for themselves
  • For content from a library database:
    • The link should include the library proxy server string (library3.webster.edu) so that users are prompted to log in/authenticate into the database.
    • The database itself may have a tool to create a citation and a permanent or persistent URL that includes the proxy string.

Follow Copyright & Fair Use guidelines when posting or distributing all content to students.  

Collaborate with your subject librarian to:

  • Share your research assignment or design one with us in advance (1 to 2 weeks, please) to ensure resources are available.
  • Link students to pre-recorded videos and training tips, or, 
  • If your students might benefit from targeted library instruction, work with us to create and front-load it into your class to save time and student frustration.

Library instruction and help for students

 

As your Business and Management Instruction Librarian, I work with you to integrate library databases and services into your courses wherever you teach in the world of Webster.  Let's work together to create training materials that make library resources of practical use to your students. 

  • identify existing training materials (research guides, recorded webinars, etc.) that support your assignments
  • create a library instruction session specifically for your class. Sessions may be delivered during class-time or recorded in advance
  • design training documents or how-to videos to demonstrate information literacy concepts and/or how to use library databases efficiently
  • reinforce course concepts with relevant articles, books, and videos
  • create course or program Research Guides, like this one, to provide students with an orientation to library resources and services.  Here is a list of guides created for specific business and management courses.
  • scaffold assignments across a program/major to build upon common research experiences of students
  • introduce training materials at point of need in World Classroom/Canvas

In addition to training delivered through your course, the Library's Research Desk is staffed almost 100 hours per week, including evenings and weekends, to support individual faculty and student research.   I can also schedule one-on-one training sessions or work via email with students who need in-depth help with research. 

Is my classroom use of materials "Fair Use"?

Check out the Library's Copyright and Fair Use research guide to learn:

What is fair use?

See scenarios of Fair Use by Use -- such as "Copying and Distributing Copyrighted Materials in the Classroom, for In-library or Electronic Reserves or on the Web".

Fair Use by Format -- when, where and how may you share articles, books, streaming media or video/DVD, textbooks, workbook/consumables (like Harvard Business School cases) and more.

And, link to the Webster University page on Copyright and Fair Use Policies for more information.

Purchasing materials for the library's collection

 

As your liaison, I work with you to build quality library collections in electronic and print formats.  Our mission is to collect resources that are appropriate for university-level teaching, study and research and that support Webster's curriculum at home and extended campuses and online.  In doing so, we place a strong emphasis on online resources.

 

Funds are available to purchase books and eBooks, DVDs, journals and trade publications,  and databases (which often contain collections of materials).   Please contact your Department Chair or me to suggest resources.

 

 

Help with faculty research and publishing

I am happy to work with you on your own research.  I can provide support that includes suggesting appropriate databases and helping you search them, creating lists of articles on your topic and limited clerical support.

If you're looking for a journal in which to publish, the following database may be of interest to you.

Other materials to use in your classroom

Using library databases in other formats

Business Case StudiesFind and use free (for Webster users) and fee/commercial case studies in your classroom.

eBooks:   Limit and link to electronic books and chapters available online.

Videos: Search and incorporate DVDs and streaming video from the library's collection and databases.

Open access teaching and research materials

Check out our research guides on Open Source Textbook Projects and Open Educational Resources (OER).  For college and university teaching resources check out MERLOT, MIT Open Courseware, Rice University's OpenStax (formerly Connexions) and the OER Commons from ISKME.