Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business & Management @ Webster University Libraries

This research guides provides databases, search tips and resources for getting started with business and management research. A guide for your specific program or major may be available on the Getting Started tab on the navigation menu.

What is a SWOT report? (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats)

A study (generally written by an outside organization) that analyzes a company's internal strengths and weaknesses, as well as the external opportunities and threats it faces in the industry and the economy. 

Databases that contain company SWOT reports

SWOT reports are most often written about public companies. If you are looking for information about a private company, you may find a SWOT report about their parent company, if it is publicly-traded.  

Finding company SWOT reports in ABI/Inform database

Use the pull-down menu to search in specific fields of a record. For example, search for 

           swot       in Document title -- DOC

AND   dell         in Company/organization - ORG

Finding company SWOT reports in the Business Source Complete database

Here's a search in the for SWOT reports.  Carrier Corp. is a private subsidiary of United Technologies (ticker: UTX). The Business Source Complete database does not have a SWOT report for Carrier, but does for UTX.  

In the keyword search displayed below, the word SWOT, is typed in the SO Publication Name field AND Carrier OR UTX in the CO Company Entity field.

Note that SWOT reports for a company may be available for several years. 

BSC search for SWOT reports for the company Carrier or its parent UTX

What if I can't find a SWOT report for my company?

Within library databases, SWOT analysis reports are most often available for large U.S. public companies, though some foreign and private companies might be covered as well.  

If you cannot find a SWOT report for your company, look for reports on 2 or 3 larger public companies in your same industry.  For example, in the computer software industry try Microsoft or Apple or Intel.  Companies in the same industry will often use or adapt their own strengths to capitalize on another company's weaknesses.

Also, check industry reports, like those from the IBISWorld Industry Market Research database to see what internal and external factors are impacting companies in the industry in which your company competes.

How can I create a SWOT analysis?