Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business & Management @ Webster University Libraries

This research guides provides databases, search tips and resources for getting started with business and management research. A guide for your specific program or major may be available on the Getting Started tab on the navigation menu.

Journals (e.g. peer-reviewed) vs. popular magazines

examples of journals, trade publications and magazines and scholarly versus popular

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Periodical descriptions

Journals:  May be called scholarly or academic periodicals.  Journal articles are written by practitioners, theorists or educators in a field or discipline and often report experimental and/or theoretical research. Peer-review: Experts, or the author's peers in the field, may review articles before publication. 

Trade publications: Often written by specialists in an industry or business activity (e.g. accounting, HR, sales), they report trends or offer practical applications or tips for those working or studying in the field.

Magazines & Newspapers: Called popular periodicals, they are written by staff writers and report current events and news for general readers.

If in doubt, ask your professor what kinds of periodicals they prefer that you to use for the assignment.

Comprehensive business article databases

These databases provide broad coverage of business and management topics. These databases are smart choices in which to start your research. 

Business Source Complete -- how to search tip sheet

Business Source Complete, our largest business and management article database, offers primarily scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles from a variety of publications. It is often the best place to start searching for articles.  Here's a brief (2-page PDF document) tip sheet on how to get started with a search.

Additional article databases

These databases may provide a different focus for your search. You might use them in addition to one of the comprehensive databases listed above, or if you have a multidisciplinary topic.

Newspaper article databases

Search these national and local newspaper databases to find articles on a topic, a company, an industry, or people (e.g. owners, CEO, board members).

If you are not in Missouri, check with your public library for access to local newspapers.

Database tools: find full-text, generate citations, and save to folders

Tip sheets on using library database tools to find the full-text of articles, use the database to generate a citation (in APA, MLA, and many other styles) and save items in folders for future use. 

Looking for a specific article or periodical, e.g Harvard Business Review?

Search the Journal / magazine / newspaper A-Z list to discover if the periodical you seek is one of more than 80,000 titles available full-text online or in print from the library.

Request books or articles

If the full-text is not available online (e.g. via Article Linker for articles or as an eBook), see our Request Books or Articles page to learn how the library can help students, faculty and staff to obtain the text (at no cost to you).