Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Case Studies

Case studies in articles from library databases are available for all Webster users. Faculty may find other tabs helpful in finding teaching cases.

Business case databases

The Sage Business Cases database

The Sage Business Cases database provides a growing collection of cases.  The search features allow one to find a case that is appropriate for your course. Below is an overview of the database content, search tips and (for faculty), how to access the teaching notes and provide access for your students.

Sage Business Cases database content overview

Check out the Sage LibGuide

Want more information about the database and how to search it? If you are faculty or an instructor, do you want to learn more about teaching with cases? If you're a student, want more information about how to use case studies to prepare for interviews and to analyze "real-world" business scenarios? Or, are you interested in writing a case study for publication? Sage has compiled this guide to help. 

How to search Sage Business Cases

Search or browse for content

Enter keywords or phrases in the basic or advanced search found at the top of each page. Or, browse by discipline (subject), by geographic region, or by case collection. 

Filter your results

From the search results screen or the advanced, use the pop-up filter box to apply such limits as:

  • Case length
  • Discipline (click the plus to expand the category)
  • Geographic region
  • Publication date
  • *Teaching notes availability

Teaching notes access for Sage Business Case Studies and student-access

For all users besides faculty (e.g. students), the teaching notes are locked. Access to the teaching notes is not automatic. Faculty may access teaching notes by follwing these steps:

1) Log in (using your last name and Webster ID number) to the database/Sage platform: http://library3.webster.edu/login?url=http://sk.sagepub.com/cases

2) create your personal My Profile on the Sage Business Cases database. Please use your Webster U email address. And then,

3) request that the library give you access to all teaching notes when you are logged in to your Sage profile.  Faculty may request access by emailing Mary Anne Erwin, the Business & Management Librarian, or by completing the library's eResources form: http://libanswers.webster.edu/eResources/ask .

4) Library staff will verify that you are a Webster U faculty member and enter the access code for teaching notes access into your profile. Please allow two (2) business days for the library to complete the process.

Unfortunately, sometimes the teaching notes access code gets erased from faculty profiles. If this happens, please contact us again so that the library can reinstate your access.  There is no need to create another profile. 

Ensuring that your students can access the case

To ensure that your students can access the case you wish them to read, you may download the PDF and post it, or a link to it, in your World Classroom / Canvas course page. Distributing the PDF document carries the advantage of keeping students within your class space. 

If you decide to link to the case, make sure that the link includes the library's proxy server address.  To capture the link from the Sage database itself, click on the title of the case to open the record and click 'Get Link'. The link should include this string, /library3.webster.edu/, which will prompt the user to log in to library eResources. 

No matter how you share the case with students, it is a best practice to also include a full citation to the case. From the case record, click the 'Cite' button to generate the citation in one of several citation styles (e.g. APA, MLA, etc.). You may then copy and paste the citation. This practice will also help our research librarians to help students to find the case in the event that the access you planned fails.

undefined

Hobbs, A., (2020). Leadership during COVID-19: Conflict and collaboration. In SAGE Business Cases. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781529752021