An introduction to the new library website and the array of information available online to students across the world of Webster. Learn how to access subject-specific research guides, online books, articles, videos, and one-on-one help from a librarian. We will show you how to find the information you need when you need it, all from the comfort of your own home.
New to Webster University or just new to library research? This video will introduce the new library website (going live January 2018) and:
• show you how to login to Library eResources
• introduce key library databases to find articles and the catalog to find books
• most importantly, show you how to get help from our friendly and expert Librarians
You have a research assignment; now what do you do? Webster U Librarians will guide you through selecting a topic, writing a thesis statement and research questions, selecting keywords and databases for preliminary research.
A literature review is a critical analysis of existing theory and research on a topic. Learn how to find peer-reviewed journal articles on your topic and analyze, organize, and present the research they contain.
When you find articles, websites, books, and other information to put in your papers, you need to make sure it's accurate and appropriate for your assignment. This webinar will give you some tips and tricks for evaluating the massive amount of information you encounter during your studies at Webster University.
Whether you are a presentation beginner or want to take your current skills up a notch, join librarians as we talk about how to give effective presentations for success in both the classroom and your professional life.
Learn why and how we cite and how to make the final step in writing your research paper or project easy and effective. We'll look at free citation generators, university-produced guides and how library databases can help with citation. Our focus is on APA, which is used in social science and business research, but these tips and tricks will help if MLA or Chicago is your style of choice.
Explore the tools available to you to help manage your citations and research. Find out if the free tools on the internet are accurate. Discover if you should be using a more robust product from the Library for research. Please note that some of the examples used in this presentation are of the MLA 7th edition.
Library and Writing Center staff provide tips for students on practical ways to ensure that you represent your academic work properly and honestly. Topics include paraphrasing and using direct quotes, self-plagiarism, overusing sources and how to balance your outside sources with your own ideas and voice.
In this online presentation, attendees will have an opportunity to learn the basics of Mendeley including how to set up an account, upload documents, create a bibliography, and use other exciting features.
Have you amassed a large number of bibliographic references in the course of your research? We'll take you beyond the basics of Mendeley to explore how this software can help you keep track of your citations. You'll learn about helpful features such annotating and searching PDFs, adding new citation styles, and more. To get the most out of the presentation it is highly recommended to watch the Mendeley 101 webinar recorded on Feb. 21, 2017.
Is your research discoverable or are you one of hundreds of James Smiths, Mary Jones, or S. Sørensens ? Should you have a profile on ResearchGate or Academia.edu? Is it important to register for an ORCID number or a ResearcherID? Have you explored Google Scholar as a tool for discovery of your work? Join your librarians for a look at the benefits and concerns with research networks and identifications.
Learn how to start strong by selecting the best business and management databases for your major or program and information need. Get tips on how to find business news and journal articles, company information and financials and industry reports.
Looking for images to use in your papers, projects, and presentations? In this presentation, we'll go beyond Google Images to explore what library databases and other online resources have to offer. We will also cover citing, copyright, and licensing.
Want to use a test in your research but don't want to create it yourself? There are lots of existing measurement tools to choose from. We'll talk about how to find them, resources such as the PsycTESTS database and permissions needed to use or modify an instrument. This webinar is appropriate for students, faculty, and staff from all disciplines.
The most effective method for finding jobs and internships is through building industry connections, so it’s imperative to understand which organizations value your skills and experiences and meet your needs. The Career Planning & Development Center and the Library will demonstrate resources that will assist you in identifying employers in your field of interest.
Wondering how to move forward on a research project, get support for your scholarly activities, and use Webster’s resources more effectively? This webinar will introduce full-time and part-time faculty members to University services and resources that enhance scholarly productivity and engagement. Webster’s broad definition of “research” encompasses diverse scholarly agendas in all fields, so this webinar is designed for faculty of all backgrounds in our worldwide community.