Skip to main content

Library Training, Tutorials & Online Presentations/Webinars

Watch Now! Library Resources Overview - Fall 1, 2019 recording

APA (6th) Citation Demystified


 

Section Timestamp, start
Introduction 0:05
What is APA Style 0:40
Why do we need to cite 1:21
Using APA Style  
   Beware of Citation Generators – even those in the library databases 3:00
   Formatting an APA paper 5:07
   In-text citations 6:57
   (Response to question about double spacing an APA paper) 9:03
   Citing a long quote 10:40
   Putting together your Reference List using APA style 11:48
Citation examples for your Reference List   
   Citation for a book or eBook 12:49
   Citation for a scholarly article 14:41
   Citation for a Web site 16:16
   Asking for Help with tricky citation 17:14
   Citation for movies and other types of media 18:42
Getting help – more information and useful links 19:55
Purdue OWL, with information about finding a sample ALA paper 21:12
Conclusion 22:48

 

APA 7th Citation Demystified

Section Timestamp, start
Welcome 0:02
Why do we need to cite? 0:29
Do Internet Citation Generators produce accurate APA 7th edition citations? 1:33
Do Database Citation Tools produce accurate APA 7th edition citations? 2:24
The two forms of APA Citation: Reference page and In-text citations 3:31
Summary of changes in APA 7th edition 4:09
Taking a closer look at References  
      Authors 6:51
      Understanding source types 8:39
      Books, including examples 9:05
      Journal articles, including examples 11:15
      Websites, including examples 14:32
      APA 7th edition citation rules to note 19:12
Formatting the reference page 19:45
In-text citations 21:20
Organizing your Reference List by the first element  22:29
Element to include in In-text Citations (there is more variation than you may think!)  
      Authors 23:27
      Works published by an organization 24:51
      Titles 25:40
      Year 26:12
      Signal phrases 26:30
      End of sentence in-text citation 27:33
Tips for keeping your citations organized 28:12
Resources for help with citations 30:42
In conclusion 33:36

 

Business & Management Research

Where do I Start?! Selecting a Topic and Beginning Your Research

Finding Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles - video series

This series covers how to find peer-reviewed journal articles using a management topic. However, this content is applicable to all disciplines and appropriate for all Webster students. The eight (8) videos in this series are available via a YouTube playlist.  Or, you may watch videos from the links below.   

1. Get started and get help at Webster University Library (03:05)

Use the big blue buttons on the library’s homepage at library.webster.edu to find a research guide for your program and to get help from our research and subject librarians.

2. What is a peer-reviewed journal? (03:26)

Describes the different types of periodicals from magazines to scholarly/academic journals.  The process of peer-review adds a higher level of authority to journal articles.

3. Define your topic (02:09)

How to select a topic that is appropriate to your course, based on your assignment and personal interests, describe it as a research question and select the key words or phrases to use in a database article search.

4. Choose a database and log in (01:55)

The library has databases for each program or major and lists to help you select the best one for your research needs.  Here’s how to choose one and log in to library databases and eResources. 

5. Search for articles with key words (03:26)

Use appropriate key words or terms to search a database for articles on your topic.  If you don't find enough, or the right kinds of articles, here’s how to expand and narrow your search results. 

6. Limit your search results to journal articles (2:42)

Once you’ve found a set of articles, limit to journal articles and/or by publication date to better meet your assignment needs.

7. Organize article search results and get full-text (3:04)

Learn how to use database tools to help you organize and save your results into folders and library tools and services to get the full-text (for free), even if it’s not in the database you’ve searched.

8. Get a citation from a database (2:02)

Many of the library’s database will generate a citation for your articles!  See how to get an APA (or MLA) citation from a database and learn more about how to use the citation in your writing.