Last Updated: May 2, 2013
- Missouri Digital Heritage
A centralized gateway to digitized collections found in archives, libraries, museums, and historical societies in Missouri. Each collection provides a description, contact information, a link to the project, and the status of the digitization effort. Keyword searching by collection or item is available.
- Missouri History Museum
Includes information on upcoming exhibits and events as well as outreach and educational programs. Research collection areas include western exploration, transportation, the fur trade, biography, Native Americans, the Louisiana Purchase, the 1904 World's Fair, as well as maps and newspapers.
- History's Time Portal to Old St. Louis
Promotes local history and genealogy, focusing on anthropology, church, geologic, military, and technological history. Of particular interest are audio files of "local" music, many with lyrics.
- St. Louis Public Library: Premier Library Sources
Site provides links to various library collections focused on local history: genealogy, African Americans, the arts, architecture, maps, and government documents.
- The State Historical Society of Missouri
Includes information on the Society's extensive genealogy and map collection, newspaper library, and photograph and art collections, as well as information on Society membership and how to do genealogical research.
- The 1904 World's Fair Society
This society is dedicated to preserving the memory and memorabilia of the Louisiana Purchase Exposition.
- Washington University Open Scholarship Research
Open Scholarship provides access to the scholarly output of faculty, staff, and students from Washington University in St. Louis by gathering it in one place. On May 9, 2011, the Faculty Senate passed the Open Access Resolution in order to make "scholarship and creative works freely and easily available to the world community." Powered by Bepress's Digital Commons, Open Scholarship is a further step in the University's commitment to open access.
- Western Historical Manuscript Collection at UMSL
Includes collection guides and some complete finding aids for collections in the following areas of St. Louis and trans-Mississippi West History: African Americans, business, immigration, labor, lesbians and gays, the media, military, religion and churches, science, peace movements, politics, social welfare, and women. Also includes links to WHMC collections in Columbia, Kansas City, and Rolla.
Contact a librarian for help