Last Updated: May 15, 2012
URL: http://libguides.webster.edu/scienceweb
Print Guide
These science areas have individual LibGuides.
- Evaluating Internet information
How do you know you have found authoritative, accurate and timely information? This LibGuide will help you determine good sources.
- Writing Resources
Links to Webster's Writing Center, Purdue University's Online Writing Lab, and other sites with valuable resources for writing.
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts: Discovery Guides
Provides information on a variety of recent science topics. An overview article, citations and abstracts for further research, and related website links are provided. Topics include biology and animals, food and nutrition, and technology.
- EurekAlert!
Central resource for the latest findings in science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences, sponsored by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Provides links to articles in the basic sciences and related areas, including agriculture, medicine and health, and the space sciences. Some features of the website are reserved for registered users only.
- How Stuff Works
This site uses illustrations, animation, and clear language to explain just how things work. Topics covered include (but are not limited to): engines, household appliances, the Internet, computers, digital components, aviation, automobiles, telecommunications, electronics, food, the human body, and weather. Also includes quizzes, games & more.
- The National Academies
The homepage for the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Institute. Browse the site by several broad categories (i.e. agriculture, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, etc. The tables of contents and abstracts of the Proceedings of the NAS are also available on the website along with the NAS News Report. Additionally, the full-text of proceedings articles is available electronically to Webster and Eden Students through the Library Web site. A good source for career information as well.
- ScienceDaily
Provides breaking news about scientific discoveries in all areas of science. The site includes articles, images, encyclopedia entries, book reviews and educational videos.
- WorldWideScience.org
Developed by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information, this gateway allows one to search across 28 scientific databases from 18 countries in energy, medicine, agriculture, environment, and the basic sciences.