Banner Image

RefWorks - Manage Your Citations: RefWorks

RefWorks Login

Log-in to RefWorks here

Importing Citations from Databases

Adding References to RefWorks from EBSCO databases

If you are searching in an EBSCOhost database, such as Business Source Complete, you may do the following to add a reference to your RefWorks account. As always with RefWorks, make sure your browser is allowing pop-up windows.

1. Click on "Add to Folder" at the end of each citation in the EBSCOhost results list which you wish to use for your research. (You may determine this by hovering your mouse over the magnifier at the end of each citation title.);

3.  Click on "Go to: Folder View" in the right column;

4.  If you want to retain all citations, click in the box next to “Select/deselect all”, then, click on the "Export" icon in the right column;

5.  Under "Save citations to a file formatted for:...", select "Direct Export to RefWorks" and click on “save” on the left side of the screen;

6.  Log into RefWorks;

7.  Click on "View Last Imported Folder" on the bottom right corner of the blue box. You will see your citations;

8.  Near the top you will see a button that says "New Folder", click on that;

9.  Select your imported citations;

10. Click on the folder icon with the plus and the arrow next to it; select the folder you have created;

11. Click on "Create Bibliography" near the top of the screen. Choose your needed citation style;

12. Change the File Type from HTML to Word for Windows 2000 or later;

13. Under “References to include”, select the name of your folder. Click on "Create a Bibliography", and download or email it.

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is an easy to use web-based citation manager available to the Webster community that allows you to import and format your citations. 

RefWorks can...

... create and manage citations of books, articles, videos, etc.

... import citations from databases and the library catalog.

... quickly create a bibliography in multiple formats (MLA, Chicago, APA, ...).

... help you easily share references with others.

Compare RefWorks to other citation managers (From the University of Wisconsin-Madison)

RefWorks Basics

3 Main Tabs: When you first log in to RefWorks, you will see three tabbed functional areas related to references:

1. References Tab - view and manage individual references The icons in the Action Bar identify certain functions:

View - clicking on View displays the full reference (only the fields with information will display)

Cite - displays the Citation Viewer used by One Line/Cite View to insert temporary citation placeholders into a document.

Edit - allows you to edit the existing reference information

Comments - displays any comments made by others who access your shared references

Attachments - indicates if files are attached to the reference and the quantity of files attached Folder Hyperlink If you opt to display folder names for your references, those names are now hyperlinks which provide quick access to all the references in that particular folder Reference Field Grouping When adding a new reference or editing an existing one, AccuCite users will now see the fields recommended by their potential output style grouped together (instead of being dispersed through the 66 available fields of information per reference). These recommended fields appear above the other available fields. Knowing which fields of information you should have for your bibliography has gotten even easier!

2. Folders Tab - The Folders area lets you create and manage folders all from the same screen.

3. Share Tab Collaboration is easier with RefWorks (Note: You may not have access to this feature). The Share area is where you share a folder or your entire database, create and manage options for your shared folders or database, post your shared research to a Shared page (if implemented by your Organization) or view sharing statistics.

For more information, see the RefWorks 2.0 release announcement, the RefWorks 2.0 preview video or the fundamentals tutorial.

Creating a Bibliography in RefWorks

You can generate a formatted bibliography from a list of references within RefWorks and create all in-text citations manually.

  1. Click on the Create Bibliography button.

  2. Select the desired Output Style from the drop-down menu.

  3. Click on Format a Bibliography from a List of References.

    Choose a File Type to Create that reflects the word processing program that you use.

  4. Decide which references you want to include, All or only the contents of one of your folders

    and select Create Bibliography .

  5. When prompted, save the resulting file.

 

Note: If the file doesn't work when double-clicked, you may need to add the correct file extension such as ".rtf" or ".docx".

Creating a Folder in RefWorks

  1. Click on the New Folder access button above the references area. In the resulting lightbox, give your folder a name, for course or subject category. You can make as many folders as you want. Click on Create.
  2. To view all the folders you have created, click on the Folders tab.   You will be taken to a folder management area. In this area, you see a list of all of your folders and the number of references saved in each. References not filed into folders are also listed above the folder list. Click on any folder for a list of its references.
  3. Go to View > All References to see all your references, regardless of folder placement. Check the box next to each reference you wish to move into your new folder.
  4. From the folder widget select the name of the new folder you just created.
  5. You will be taken back to the All References page, but you should see the name of the folder to which you just added your references.

Help!

Contact a librarian for help

Beware of Pop Up Blockers

When searching some databases, when you choose the option to export records to RefWorks, the database website wants to open a new window in your browser to do that.  If you have a pop-up blocker enabled, it can appear that nothing happened - and the error message may go by so quickly you don't see it.

So, when trying to export records from a database, if there are problems the first thing to try is to turn off your pop-up blocker, and try it again.  If you use that database often, you might want to add that vendor's website to the exception list in your pop-up blocker - so you can have the blocker turned on, but still allow pop-ups from that vendor site.