Marketing Websites - Demographics and News - Marketing at Webster University Library

U.S. demographic and consumer behavior websites

Find Census Data (formerly American FactFinder)
Provides access to population, housing, economic and geographic information from the US Census Bureau. Data is collected from nearly 100 surveys and censuses including the 10-year Decennial Census of population and housing, the annual American Community Survey, and the 5-year Economic Census of business and industry.
American Time Use Survey
Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this website reports "the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Produced for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the US Census Bureau. The data provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data and published the last book in 2012. Use this source for historical perspectives or find more current data by accessing the organizations cited in the source notes for each table of the Statistical Abstract.
Surveys of Consumers
Reports the Consumer Sentiment Index and other research conducted by the University of Michigan. (Reports newer than six months are only available to survey sponsors.)
United States Census Bureau
Includes population and household statistics from the most recent census, economic and geographic statistics for businesses, as well as links to other statistical sites.

data.census.gov (formerly American FactFinder)

data.census.gov (formerly American FactFinder)
Provides access to population, housing, economic and geographic information from the US Census Bureau. Data is collected from nearly 100 surveys and censuses including the 10-year Decennial Census of population and housing, the annual American Community Survey, and the 5-year Economic Census of business and industry.
Getting started with Your Search on on data.census.gov
Learn about the different ways to search for data on the platform; from basics, like using the Single Search, to applying filters in the Advanced Search, this video is full of tips and tricks to help you get started.

Find data about:

Population Characteristics: age, sex, income, race, etc.
Housing: single family, ownership/rentals, children at home, etc.
Geography: from zip codes to cities/towns, counties to states, metropolitan areas and more
Business & Economy: industry/NAICS data, establishments, employees, payroll, etc.

Consumer Expenditure Survey

The Consumer Expenditure Survey is produced for the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) by the US Census Bureau.

The data provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.

The BLS also publishes the American Time Use Survey, which "measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."

(image from Bureau of Labor Statistics website)

Online news

Ad Age
Website for well-known publication covering all aspects of the topic. Includes domestic and international news, features, critiques of advertising strategies, information on conferences and events, etc. (from About Us page, 10/17/2023)
Adweek
Well-known for its coverage of advertising and marketing news, this site is a "leading source of news and insight serving the brand marketing ecosystem ... across platforms including print, digital, events, podcasts, newsletters, social media and mobile apps."
American Marketing Association
"The AMA leads an unparalleled discussion on marketing excellence from thought leaders who seek answers for the future to propel business growth and elevate the role of marketing. (from About Us, 10/17/23.)
CustomerThink
"A global online community of business leaders striving to create profitable customer-centric enterprises. Major topics include customer experience and engagement, leadership, and technology. This is the place to learn about every facet of customer-centric business management in articles, blogs, interviews, and news." (from "About Us" page 10/17/2023)
eMarketer
Provides market research on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technology.
Marketing Charts
Shares research on television, interactive, print, radio, put-of-home, and direct marketing.

Library

Marketing at Webster University Library

Need help? Ask us!

Business & Management Librarian

U.S. demographic and consumer behavior websites

data.census.gov (formerly American FactFinder)

Consumer Expenditure Survey

Online news