Collection of current and historic digital map depositories and driving maps.
Last Updated: Feb 12, 2013
Contact a librarian for help
- American Memory Map Collections (Library of Congress)
Provides maps from 1544 to the present day. Covers topics such as settlements in America, military battles, discovery and exploration, conservation, the environment, transportation, and communication.
- Atlapedia Online
World maps, country information, and classroom resources.
- MapMachine (National Geographic)
Provides useful features, such as page-size maps suitable for printing in pdf format; flags and facts about countries of the world; and, dynamic theme maps depicting characteristics such as regions with mineral resources, location of earthquakes, elevation, vegetation, etc.
- National Atlas of the United States of America
Search preformatted maps, create your own maps, and work with interactive maps on this U.S. government website.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
One of the premier map collections on the Internet. Includes current and historical maps, links to city map sites, maps of regions currently in the news, etc..
- Google Earth
Google Earth lets you view satellite imagery, maps, terrain, 3D buildings, galaxies in outer space, and the depths of the ocean.
- Google Maps
Allows user to create a map for an address or city and get directions between two location.
- How Far Is It?
Useful for locating the distance between two points on the globe (as the crow flies). This service uses data from the US Census and a supplementary list of cities around the world to find the latitude and longitude of two places, and then calculates the distance between them. It also provides a map showing the two places, using the Xerox PARC Map Server.
In addition to an interactive world atlas, provides a "tripquest" feature which allows you to create routing plans between two destinations in North America. Members (membership is free) can also create personalized maps.
- Yahoo! Maps
Allows the user to create a map for an address or city and get driving directions between two locations.