This is the "Databases" page of the "Costume Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Costume Resources   Tags: conservatory of theatre arts, costumes, design, fashion  

Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.webster.edu/costume Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Helpful Library Databases

Works of art are a great resource for costume. Library databases offer a wealth of digital art images. (Login with university ID required.) Also, check the guide Theatre @ Webster University Library for additional web resources.

  • ARTstor
    A nonprofit digital library of over one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. It offers a set of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Images in the collection are contributed by outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
  • CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
    Offers about 95,000 images of art works in museums worldwide. Works include painting, drawing, sculpture, photographs, prints, decorative art, costume, architecture and more. All images are rights-cleared for educational use.
  • History of Costume
    Access to 1,488 images of costumes through the ages from the six volume slide collection History of Costume by Jeanne Button, Patricia Quinn Stuart and Stephen Sbarge. Textual description for images of each period is included as a PDF.
  • Oxford Art Online
    The image search feature within this art reference database searches 40,000 selected image links to museums and galleries worldwide and links to 5,00 images contained within the Grove Art Online encyclopedia.
  • International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance  
      
    Journals, books, book articles, and dissertations of interest to theatre and dance students and professionals.
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Costume Resources guide. Please use this page to find helpful information at Webster University Library about fashion, costumes, make up, wigs and more. Also, remember you can always contact a librarian for help using the information on the sidebar. Good luck with your research!

Photo credit: Jacket, U.S. Navy (Tail Jacket), image copyright The Metropolitan Museum of Art: Brooklyn Museum Costumes, used with academic permissions from ARTstor Database.

Librarian

Profile Image
Emily Scharf, Instruction and Liaison Services Librarian
Contact Info
emilyscharf99@webster.edu
(314) 246-7818
office 222
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip