Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013
This guide links you to a select number of web sites with information on generalogy. Additional guides are available in related subject areas by clicking the LibGuides link at the top. For assistance, please contact the Reference Desk listed on the right side of this page.
Current Webster University and Eden Theological Seminar students, faculty, and staff have access to the HeritageQuest database. This database has a number of resources that can be used for genealogical research, including U.S. federal census data, family and local history books, a periodical index, American Revolutionary war files, etc.
- Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
Extensive collection of links to U.S. and international resources on genealogy.
Search this database for ancestors' names or browse for information by category: census, court records, land records, military records, heraldry information. Also includes links to genealogy sites and services. Produced and maintained by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.
- Genealogy (About.com)
Helpful source for information on resources and tutorials.
- Resources for Genealogists (U.S. National Archives)
Includes information on resources from the National Archives and links to online sources.
Includes a searchable surname list, electronic mailing list, information for subscribing to genealogy periodicals, and a form for searching the Social Security Death Index. See especially the World Connect Project, which links GEDCOM files submitted by genealogists.
- The USGenWeb Project
Provides links to U.S. state- and county-level genealogical information and on-going projects.
- Yahoo's list on genealogy
Contact a librarian for help