Skip to main content

Management & Leadership @ Webster University Library

Finding scholarly sources and help for your Capstone research project/paper

To find scholarly/academic, peer-reviewed resources for your literature review:

  • If in doubt, ask your professor what kinds of periodicals s/he requires or prefers for your assignment.
  • the Articles tab above will help you to discover appropriate journal databases
  • use the Books & eBooks tab to access the library catalog

For additional help, see the library's Capstone / Thesis Support research guide.  Pages on this guide provide help and videos to lead you though:

  • selecting and focusing your research topic
  • completing your literature review
  • presenting your research in writing or as a presentation

You might also want to view the videos on research, writing and presenting  and citation and managing research that are linked from the "Recorded Webinars" tab of the Library Webinars and Online Training research guide.

Choosing a Topic

forming a research question

 

Which article database should I use?

It depends on your topic!  For most topics, we suggest you begin with Business Source Complete, which is the library's largest periodical database covering over 25,000 titles.  Or, you might prefer ABI/Inform, another business article database. 

If you are doing research in a specific industry, you might also search one of the following subject databases:

If you're researching: Use:
a broad, cross-disciplinary topic that spans multiple subjects Academic Search Complete
education, school administration, teaching/training adult learners ERIC
health administration/management Medline with Full-text
information technology, MIS, computer security ACM Digital Library
military, government, public administration Military & Government Collection
the psychology of human behavior PsycInfo
social sciences SocINDEX

To access these library databases, please see the research guide for your program or visit our Articles / Databases page for a full list of databases available from your library.

Theses and Dissertations -- Databases and help for finding formal theses and disserations (not capstone papers)

For help finding Webster University theses and dissertations, please check out the following links:

How do I find a print copy of a thesis or dissertation?

What are Webster's graduate thesis/doctoral dissertation proposal and submission requirements?

Check out the following databases if you are Interested in finding online theses and dissertations from Webster University or searching for those produced at other universities.

Capstone vs. Thesis

Graduate students in most Walker Business School programs complete a capstone paper or project rather than a more formal thesis. You may ask: Does the Library keep graduate capstone (e.g. 6000) papers and projects?