What is an article database?

Article databases are collections of articles in magazines, newspapers, and journals. These databases make it easier to locate articles on your topic because they are collected into one place and provide search functions that are useful for academic research. You can find a list of all the databases that the library subscribes to on the Articles & Databases page on the library website.

You will need to login to Webster Databases using your Connections information. 

General databases to start with

Complete list of databases

To find articles on your topic, go to the library homepage, library.webster.edu/databases. You’ll see a list of databases that vary by subject area and you can choose the area that best suits your topic.

Uncertain which database to use?

Try starting your search with Academic Search Premier.  This is a powerful multi-disciplinary database with articles covering a variety of topics!

For more about how to search in our databases, chat with a librarian, check out this library guide, or take a look at our webinar, “Where do I Start? Selecting a Topic and Beginning Your Research.”

While Google Scholar can be a useful source for finding journal articles, there are advantages found in using Webster University Libraries' databases, including:

• Features that let you customize your search
• Access to more full text materials
• Integration with other library services (e.g., chat, delivery services, etc.).

For more information on using Google Scholar, view the FAQ: How can I connect Google Scholar to the Library?