The professional and honorary organization of the film industry. The academy has over 6,000 members. Its website features links to the Academy Awards, the Margaret Herrick Library, the Academy Film Archive, grants, awards, and the indexes to the motion picture credits.
This movie database has information on current and older movies, directors, and actors. Information for a film includes a plot synopsis, cast list, production credits, similar films and links to more information.
This site has news and upcoming dates of film festivals, reviews and news about current films, resources for filmmakers, and links to a variety of sites: celebrities, independent films, motion picture studios, soundtracks, screenwriting, and more.
Website for independent filmmakers and film aficionados. Focuses on updates on independent film projects, breaking news and in-depth coverage. Has a very good section on world cinema. Also has an email ‘zine which offers daily updates on indie film news.
A searchable database containing material on actors, directors, writers, and characters in over 80,000 films. Includes biographies, movie history, reviews, and plot summaries. Users can also check the movies and show times at their local cinemas.
The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.