Ask A Librarian for help finding sources, narrowing or expanding your topic, and more!
Types of periodicals / articles
Scholarly/academic journals, e.g. Academy of Management Review, may be peer-reviewed and publish experimental or theoretical research in a discipline.
Trade publications, like Government Procurement and Accounting Today, inform or educate professionals in an industry or management function.
Popular magazines, like Time, Bloomberg Businessweek, Harvard Business Review, and newspapers like The Wall Street Journal, inform or entertain the general public.
If in doubt, ask your professor what kinds of periodicals they prefer that you to use for the assignment.
Business Source Complete, our largest business and management article database, offers primarily scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles from a variety of publications. It is often the best place to start searching for articles. Here's a brief (2-page PDF document) tip sheet on how to get started with a search.
These databases may provide a different focus for your search. You might use them in addition to one of the comprehensive databases listed above, or if you have a multidisciplinary topic. Additional databases may also be listed on the research guide for a specific program.
Search these national and local newspaper databases to find articles on a topic, a company, an industry, or people (e.g. owners, CEO, board members).
If you are not in Missouri, check with your public library for access to local newspapers.
Here are a couple of tip sheets on using advanced features within Webster University Libraries' databases, which include:
Search the Journals and Magazines A-Z list to discover if the periodical you seek is one of more than 80,000 titles available full-text online or in print from the library.
If the full-text is not available online, see our Borrowing & Returns page to learn how the library can help students, faculty and staff to obtain the text (at no cost to you).
