For this assignment, you are required to use articles written by scholars. Below is a list of databases in which you can find these journal articles related to art.
Focuses on the history of the United States and Canada from early times to present day. Includes related disciplines such as sociology, popular culture, gender issues, anthropology, literature, folklore, history of various disciplines, etc. (5 simultaneous users)
Access to 1,900 images of architecture and interior decoration covering 2800 B.C. to late twentieth century from the eight volume slide collection Architecture, Interiors and Furniture by Stephen Sbarge. Textual description for images of each period is included as a PDF.
Broad coverage of art, architecture, and related areas covering publications from 1984 to present.
Provides broad coverage of art topics including art history, architecture, advertising, archaelogy, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, and film. The database provides citations and abstracts from over 400 leading international art publications from 1984 to present and full text articles from nearly 120 journals from 1997 to present.
Retrospective coverage of art, architecture, and related areas. A good resource to find "contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track a body of work of an artist or movement" as well as artist interviews, commentary, art reproductions and coverage of all art subjects in journals published from 1929 to 1984.
Indexes almost 600 international art publications covering 55 years of art journalism. A good resource to find "contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, track a body of work of an artist or movement" as well as artist interviews, commentary, art reproductions and coverage of all art subjects in journals published from 1929 to 1984.
Getty Institute index of scholarly articles on the history of western art.
The Getty Institute site offers free access to their scholarly art history bibliography. The database searches both Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) covering 1990-2007 and International Bibliography of Art (IBA) covering 2008 and part of 2009.
Includes the content from two established indexes, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, as well as other major journals in these disciplines. The full-text for over 200 titles is provided.
An online video collection of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century with selections covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental and improvisations dance as well as forerunners of form and pioneers of modern concert dance. Content can be searched or browsed by composer, choreographer, genre, performer, ensemble, and role. Users can create and share playlists for course or individual use.
Diversity Studies Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework.
Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and film making. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
The image search feature within this art reference database searches 40,000 selected image links to museums and galleries worldwide and links to 5,00 images contained within the Grove Art Online encyclopedia.
Access to 1,488 images of costumes through the ages from the six volume slide collection History of Costume by Jeanne Button, Patricia Quinn Stuart and Stephen Sbarge. Textual description for images of each period is included as a PDF.
This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content for more than 1,200 journals.
This database covers all aspects of theatre and performance with journals, books, book chapters, and dissertations of interest to theatre and dance students and professionals.
JSTOR is a digital archive of scholarly journals. Note that our subscription is for the following collections: Arts & Sciences II and Arts & Sciences III.
Click the Images tab to search Artstor for thousands of images from the arts, architecture, photography, and other disciplines.
Provides citations and abstracts to scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. (4 simultaneous users)
Pop Culture Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Religion and Philosophy Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines of interest to both researchers and general users. The database offers balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.
