Home - SCIN 1030 - Science in the News - Library at Webster University

Library Journals & Databases for Science in the News Topics

Science (American Association for the Advancement of Science)
1880-current

New York Times (ProQuest)
Includes full text of the New York Times East Coast edition from Jun 1, 1980 - present.
New York Times Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Offers full-page-images and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to three years ago.

New York Times online subscription
This complimentary access to NYTimes.com is provided by the Webster University Student Government Association (WSGA). It is free to all Webster student staff and faculty. Each individual must first create their own account at https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
Scientific American
This link to Scientific American allows you to browse issues of the journal by date or click "Search within this Publication" on the left of the screen to search for your topic within Scientific American.
Cell
Cell publishes findings of unusual significance in any area of experimental biology, including but not limited to cell biology, molecular biology, neuroscience, immunology, virology and microbiology, cancer, human genetics, systems biology, signaling, and disease mechanisms and therapeutics.
PNAS (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences)
The Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), the official journal of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), is an authoritative source of high-impact, original research that broadly spans the biological, physical, and social sciences.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
A scholarly multidisciplinary database of periodical articles, most with full-text, through Ebscohost.
Scopus
The Library's most comprehensive scientific, medical, and technical index of journal articles.
Environment Complete (EBSCO)
Journal articles on science and policy aspects of the environment.

See all library databases

News Sources

Al-Jazeera News - Science
English version of the Arabic-language news network.
BBC World News - Science and the Environment
International news, analysis and information from the BBC World Service.
CNN
Current news from CNN.
The Conversation
The Conversation is a nonprofit, independent news organization dedicated to unlocking the knowledge of experts for the public good.
EurekAlert!
An online, global news service operated by AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science).
Fox News Science
News from a strong conservative perspective.
The Guardian - Science
Science news from the British news source.
The Huffington Post - Science
Offers syndicated columnists, blogs and news stories with moderated comments.
The Journalist’s Resource: informing the news
A project of Harvard Kennedy School's Shorenstein Center and the Carnegie-Knight Initiative, The Journalist’s Resource curates, summarizes and contextualizes high-quality research on newsy public policy topics.
National Public Radio (NPR) - Science
NPR creates and distributes award-winning news, information, and music programming to a network of 900 independent stations.
The New York Times - Science
The science page of the online version of the New York Times
Science Daily
Breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more.

Retracted Literature

Retraction Watch User Guide & Database

• An October 2018 article in Science magazine looking at retracted article numbers, types, implications and more.

Search journals & eJournals by title

Resources for Searching the Deep Web

There is more to the Web than what you find with Google. These resources explain what information is out there and provides you with tools to explore the Web more deeply.

Online reference books

These online reference books are a great place to search for background information on a topic.

Credo Reference
This source has 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases from more than 60 publishers.

Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks provides a combined search of a number of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference sources in various subject areas.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The the definitive record of the English language, featuring 600000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1000 years of English.

Types of Sources

Science, the press, and the public: Working with authors to convey research results

Science, the press, and the public
This talk outlines how the Science Press Package Team secures recognition for publishing authors and their work, and how the team helps the media understand the potential impact of scientific findings.